Alan Astbury (1934-2014)

IUPAP expresses its deep sorrow over the passing away of Professor Alan Astbury (1934-2014).

Alan served IUPAP as its president-designate (2002-2005), president (2005-2008) and former
president (2008-2011).

Read More

C3 Young Scientist Winners 2013


Kazumasa Takeuchi, winner of the 2013 IUPAP C3 Young Scientist award; Stefano Ruffo, C3 Chair; and Takahiro Sagawa, winner of the 2013 IUPAP C3 Young Scientist award; at the Statphys25 meeting in Seoul, July 2013.

C10 Young Scientist Winner 2014

homepage pic edited cw

Clarina de la Cruz, winner of the 2014 IUPAP C10 Young Scientist award, presenting her prize lecture.

5th IUPAP International Conference on Women in Physics


The ICWIP conference works to bring together delegates from around the world to: showcase and celebrate scientific work in all areas of physics Read More

28th General Assembly


The International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) is governed by its General Assembly, which meets every three years. The 28th General Assembly of IUPAP will be held in Singapore from 5 – 7 November 2014.



C10 Young Scientist Prize Nominations Due 15 July 2014

Young Scientist Prize nominations 2014

C10: In the structure and dynamics of condensed matter


The IUPAP C10 Young Scientist Prize recognizes exceptional achievement in the study of the structure and dynamics of condensed matter by scientists at a relatively junior stage of their career. One prize per year will be awarded on the basis of nominations received. The recipient must be no more than eight years post PhD (excluding career interruptions) by the deadline of the competition, and is expected to have displayed significant achievement and exceptional promise for future achievement in an area of experimental, computational or theoretical condensed matter physics.

Read More

C18 Young Scientist Prize Nominations Due 31 August 2014

Young Scientist Prize nominations 2015

C18: Mathematical Physics


The IUPAP Mathematical Physics C18 prize recognizes exceptional achievements in mathematical physics by scientists at relatively early stages of their careers. It is awarded triennially to young scientists satisfying the following criteria.

Nomination Requirements and Deadline for Submission:

• The recipients of the awards in a given year should have a maximum of 8 years of research experience (excluding career interruptions) following their PhD on January 1 of that year.

• The recipients should have performed original work of outstanding scientific quality in mathematical physics.

• Preference may be given to young mathematical physicists from developing countries.

The deadline for nominations is 31st August 2014. Please submit your nomination to Jakob Yngvason, Antti Kupiainen and Patrick Dorey as officers of the IUPAP C18 commission for Mathematical Physics.

The Prize:

The prize will consist of 1,000, a medal and a certificate.

Prize Presentation:

The awards will be presented at the ICMP in July 2015 in Santiago de Chile.

C5 Young Scientist Winners 2014

Young Scientist Prize winners 2014

C5: Low Temperature Physics

The IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Low Temperature Physics will be awarded to the following three scientists during the 27th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics (LT27) to be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina,  6 – 13 August 2014. Invited presentations will be made at the conference.

  • Cory R. Dean [The City College of New York, USA]: For his development of graphene on boron nitride and subsequent discovery of the Hofstadter’s butterfly.
  • Leonardo DiCarlo [Delft Univeristy of Technology, the Netherlands]: For his outstanding low-temperature experiments on semiconducting and superconducting mesoscopic circuits, and for establishing an innovative research program on measurement and feedback control of superconducting qubits.
  • Mathieu Le Tacon [MPI for Solid State Research, Germany]: For his innovative photon scattering experiments elucidating spin and charge ordering phenomena and excitations in high-temperature superconductors and other correlated-electron materials.

Welcome to the new IUPAP website

Interactions report on the General Assembly

Welcome to the new IUPAP website.

We have redeveloped the site, updating its look and making various other improvements.

We have moved things around a little bit but you should be able to find what you are looking for via the top navigation or the home page boxes.

If you have any comments or have noticed any errors, we would love to hear from you. Please email the IUPAP Administrator.