WG15: SOFT MATTER

WG15: SOFT MATTER

The 29th General Assembly resolved to establish the Working Group on Soft Matter Physics, WG15, with the mandate

1.     To organize/assist in organization of an International Conference “Soft Matter Around the World” which rotates every 3 years to each geographic region (Europe-Africa, the Americas, and Asia-Pacific).

2.     To coordinate soft-matter-related regional, national & local conferences, meetings & workshops

3.     To coordinate soft matter education, such as summer/winter schools and short courses and help organize them if a need appears

4.     To promote soft matter research through information exchange, publicity, prizes, publications, etc.

5.     To strengthen the connections between academic and industrial soft matter research and development through outreach events, short courses, etc.

MEMBERS

Americas

United States:

Michael Rubinstein (Chair)
Email: Michael.rubinstein@duke.edu

Seth Fraden
Email: fraden@brandeis.edu

Andrea Liu
Email: ajliu@physics.upenn.edu

David Weitz
Email: weitz@seas.harvard.edu

Canada:

Eugenia Kumacheva
Email: ekumache@chem.utoronto.ca

Asia/Africa/Australia

Australia:

Peter Harrowell
Email: peter.harrowell@sydney.edu.au

China:

Ouyang Zhongcan
Email: oy@itp.ac.cn

India:

Guruswamy Kumaraswamy 
Email: g.kumaraswamy@ncl.res.in

Japan:

Hajime Tanaka
Email: tanaka@iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Korea:

Wonho Jhe
Email: whjhe@snu.ac.kr

Europe

France:

Jean Francois Joanny
Email: jean-francois.joanny@espci.fr

Germany:

Gerhard Gompper
Email: g.gompper@fz-juelich.de

Italy:

Emanuela Zaccarelli
Email: emanuela.zaccarelli@phys.uniroma1.it

United Kingdom:

Daan Frenkel
Email: df246@cam.ac.uk

Reports

Reports to IUPAP General Assembly: 2017
Reports to Council and Commission Chair meeting: 2018(May), 2018(Oct)