Report of Secretary General (October 2019)

- 1. Since the current agreement with NTU for the IUPAP Secretariat Office in Singapore will end in December 2020 and we have already invested and spent a lot of time and effort and infrastructure, we hope to extend the IUPAP Secretariat Office in Singapore for another three more years basically to be based in NUS with the support from NTU.
- 2. The September (2019) issue of the newsletter has been published. The secretariat would like to thank all commission chairs for writing various reports. Several Young Scientist Winners have contributed to the last issues. As usual, Maitri has been instrumental in assembling the materials for the newsletter.
- 3. IUPAP Young Scientist Prize (2019)
 - o International Commission on Optics (AC1): Can Bayram
 - International Commission on General Relativity and Gravitation, ISGRG (AC2): Kento Yagi
 - o International Commission on Medical Physics (AC4): Kuo Men and Jianrong Dai
 - Commission on Statistical Physics (C3): Lucile Savany, Alexandre Solon and Manlio de Domenica
 - o Commission on Astroparticle physics (C4): Anna Nelles and Siyao Xu
 - o Commission on Biological Physics (C6): Nikta Fakhri and Knut Drescher
 - o Commission on Magnetism (C9): Julia Mundy
 - o Commission on Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter (C15): Ming Yi
 - o Commission on Particles and Fields (C11): Jaroslav Trnka and Heather Gray
 - o Commission on Nuclear Physics (C12): Or Hen, Chun Shen and Xiaofei Yang
 - Commission on Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics (C15): Andreas Mooser and Christian Smorra
 - o Commission on Plasma Physics (C16): Istvan Cziegler
 - Commission on Laser Physics and Photonics (C17): Sergey Kruk, Alireza Marandi and Jinyang Liang
 - o Commission on Computational Physics (C20): Jesus Carrete Montana
- 4. The secretariat is working with one of the Vice Presidents at Large, Monica Pepe-Altarelli, to print materials for the 100th centenary. Lionel Seow (World Scientific) has been assigned to help with the work: Mihoko Nojiri, Igle Gledhill and Nithaya Chetty are all currently involved in the team. More people are welcome to join.