# IUPAP Commission Chairs and Council Electronics Meeting October 2015 Secretary General's Report for 2015

# 1. Finance

The financial statement for last year (2014) is included along with the performance against budget this year (2015) and the proposed budget for next year (2016), all of which will be covered in more detail under a separate agenda item.

### 2. Administration

Maitri Bobba, Sun Han and Judy Yeo (on part-time secondment from WSPC) will be helping with the secretariat affairs.

### 3. Proposal for C&CC Meeting in 2016

We have received three proposals for hosting the C & CC meeting in 2016: Valencia, Spain (submitted by Juan Fuster); Taipei, Taiwan (submitted by Raynien Kwo) and Vilnius, Lithuania (submitted by Grazina Tautvaisiene. These will be discussed at this meeting.

### 4. Proposal for General Assembly 2017

We have received three proposals for hosting the General Assembly in 2017: two proposals from Brazil and one from China. These will be discussed at this meeting.

# 5. IUPAP Bulletin

We have published two issues of the IUPAP Bulletin: April 2015 and September 2015. The bulletin reports principally on the new IUPAP committees, the new commission chairs and the Young Scientist award. Bob Bingham wrote an article on Plasma Accelerator for the September 2015 issue. Commission chairs are encouraged to submit interesting articles about their physics area to the bulletin. The next bulletin will be published in January 2016.

#### 6. Membership

We have contacted Vietnam (via Prof. Tranh Tran Van) and he has recommended that we get in touch with Prof. Phan Bao Ngoc. It is likely that Prof. Van will be facilitating the membership share in the first few years. For Thailand, we have contacted the President of the Thai Physical Society, Prof. Sukit Limpijumnong. It is likely that Thailand will be participating from 2016. In Brunei we will be having continuing conversations with Dr Joyce Teo Siew Yean, the Assistant Vice Chancellor and Vice President (Global Affairs) of Universiti Brunei Darussalam. For Indonesia, we have contacted Ms Nada Marsudi. She is the Director of the International Science and Technology Networking at the Indonesian Ministry of Research and Technology. Qatar has expressed interest in joining IUPAP through Prof. Ilham Y. Al-Qaradawi (Qatar University).

# 7. Commission Membership

Akira Hirose has resigned as Secretary of C16 (Plasma Physics) for health reasons and Robert Fedosejevs has accepted an invitation to be a Commission member, and Sylvie Jacquemot an invitation to be the Secretary.

# 8. Young Scientist Prize 2015

The IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes have been awarded to the following people:

Nicolas Yunes (AC2) Guerda Massillon-JL\_(AC4) Claudio Kopper and Julia Tjus (C4) <u>Keji Lai</u> (C10) Marius V Costache andMasamitsu Hayashi (C9) Gretchen K Campbell (C15) Livia Lancia and Christian Theiler (C16) Mark Thompson and Robert Fickler (C17) Roland Bauerschmidt, Joseph Ben Geloun and Nicolas Rougerie\_(C18) Sylvain Guiriec (C19)\* \*Not in IUPAP News Bulletin (Sep 2015)

Young Scientist Award 2016: Baowen Zhong (C10)

# 9. Working Group 2 on Communication in Physics

Gene Sprouse has resigned as Chair of IUPAP WG2 and Daniel T. Kulp as the Interim Editor-in-Chief and Editorial director of the American Physical Society (APS) has agreed to work with IUPAP as the interim manager of the group, until a new Chair is appointed

### 10. International Year of Light

During the C&CC meeting in Trieste, Italy from April 24-27, 2015, Joe Niemela delivered a report on the progress and activities of the International Year of Light.

K.K. Phua, Secretary General, IUPAP