## Report of Secretary General (October 2018)

1. There has been a change in the directorship of the Institute of Advanced Studies (IAS) at the Nanyang Technological University (NTU) since Jun 26, 2018. Maitri's position at IAS has been changed: she is now working with a new Institute at NTU: the Nanyang Institute of Science and Technology for Humanities (NISTH) and she is now a full time staff at NISTH. Our current MOU stands despite the changes at NTU since the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed between NTU as a University, the IUPAP (Singapore) and IUPAP.

2. With the withdrawal of support from IAS at NTU, we now loses our physical space at IAS. We may need to rent new spaces for IUPAP out of the current support for the secretariat.

3. Although the IAS still currently maintains the website, it is anticipated that the website hosting may be taken out of the current IAS at NTU hosting. The extra expenditure for hosting the website is minimal and we anticipated that such a move would serve IUPAP better in the long run. IUPAP may need to engage somebody to maintain the website.

4. There has been a suggestion to move IUPAP office from NTU to University Town at NUS. This may require a change in the current MOU.

5. The secretariat continues to support the various Commissions and the C&CC meetings, including the website, and possibly the new websites for IYBSD and the centenary of IUPAP.

6. The June issue of the newsletter is out. The secretariat would like to thank all commission chairs for writing various reports. Several Young Scientist Winners have contributed to the last issues.

7. IUPAP Young Scientist Prize

International Commission on Optics (AC1): Guilin Grancini International Commission on General Relativity and Gravitation (AC2): Samuel E Grallaq Commission on Magnetism (C9): Shinichiro Seki Commission on Particles and Fields (C11): Jaroslav Trnka and Heather Gray Commission on Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics (C15): Alexey Gorshkov Commission on Plasma Physics (C16): Eleonora Viezzer Commission on Computational Physics (C20): Noa Marom

8. Obituary: former President of IUPAP, Burton Richter (July 18, 2018) passed away on July 18, 2018.