IUPAP Commission Chairs and Council Meeting (Sao Paulo, Brazil) October 2017 Secretary General's Report for 2017

1. Finance

The financial statement for last year (2016) is included along with the performance against budget this year (2017) and the proposed budget for next year (2018), all of which will be covered in more detail under a separate agenda item.

2. Administration

We would like to register our thanks to Maitri Bobba for assuming most of the IUPAP secretariat work, Erin Ong Wanlin for helping with the design of the Newsletters and other publication materials and Toh-Miang Ng for his IT Support for the IUPAP website and the Online Nomination and Election process.

Aside from Maitri, We register our thanks to Sun Han, has also contributed immensely to the work for the secretariat of IUPAP for the year 2016-2017. The IUPAP now has its own physical premises at the Nanyang Technological University (NTU). An MOU has recently been signed between the President of NTU and IUPAP.

3. Social Media

The IUPAP has a twitter account (165 following and 361 followers), started by IOP in 2014 and a facebook account with 675 likes (as on Sep 29, 2017).

4. **IUPAP Bulletin**

Since the last three years, the secretariat has published about ten issues of the IUPAP Bulletin (Issue 62-71). IUPAP President, Bruce Mckellar has recently published an article in the Physics Today on IUPAP: http://physicstoday.scitation.org/doi/10.1063/PT.3.3707

5. Membership

Significant progress has been made to encourage Vietnam (via Prof. Tranh Tran Van), Thailand (Prof. Sukit Limpijumnong), Malaysia (Prof. Kurunathan), Brunei (Dr Joyce Teo Siew Yean, the Assistant Vice Chancellor and Vice President (Global Affairs) of Universiti Brunei Darussalam) and Indonesia (Dr Sparisoma Virdi) to join IUPAP as members.

Two other countries that have indicated interest are: Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan. Pakistan has applied for reinstatement of its membership.

6. Young Scientist Prize 2017

The IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes have been awarded to the following people:

Julian Sitarek (C4: Astroparticle Physics)

Frank G. Schroeder (C4: Astroparticle Physics)

Hicks Clifford (C5: Low Temperature Physics)

Vlad Pribiag (C5: Low Temperature Physics)

Hyun Youk (C6: Biological Physics)

Siyuan Wang (C6: Biological Physics)

Jiajie Diao (C6: Biological Physics)

Cui-Zu Chang (C10: Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter)

Johannes Feist (C15: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics)

Igor Aharonovich (C17: Laser Physics and Photonics)

Mohsen Rahmani (C17: Laser Physics and Photonics)

Pratika Dayal (C19: Astrophysics)

Glen Evenbly (C20: Computational Physics)

Young Scientist Prize 2016

Lisa Manning and Martin Lenz (C3: Statistical Physics)

Kimberly Dick Thelander and Samuel Stranks (C8: Semiconductors)

Wei Han (C9: Magnetism)

Wenzhong Bao (C10: Structure and Dynamics of Condensed Matter)

Stefan Hoeche and Liangjian Wen (C11: Particle Physics)

Yu-Ao Chen (C15: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics)

Sam M. Vinko (C16: Plasma Physics)

Jianwei Sun (C20: Computational Physics)

Andreas Ekstrom (C12: Nuclear Physics)

Haozhao Liang (C12: Nuclear Physics)

Kara Marie Lynch (C12: Nuclear Physics)

Young Scientist Prize 2015

Nicolas Yunes (AC2)

Guerda Massillon-JL (AC4)

Claudio Kopper and Julia Tjus (C4)

Keji Lai (C10)

Marius V. Costache and Masamitsu Hayashi (C9)

Gretchen K Campbell (C15)

Livia Lancia and Christian Theiler (C16)

Mark Thompson and Robert Fickler (C17)

Roland Bauerschmidt, Joseph Ben Geloun and Nicolas Rougerie (C18)

Sylvain Guiriec (C19)

7. Inaugural C13 Prize

There will be an inaugural C13 Prize that will be announced later by or C13 Chair, Sandro Scandolo.

8. ICSU GRANT SUCCESSES

IUPAP and the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) have successfully won 300K Euro ICSU grant for the proposal on "Utilization of Light Source and Crystallographic Sciences to Facilitate the Enhancement of Knowledge and Improve the Economic and Social Conditions in Targeted Regions of the World" (co-led with IUCr). The project is lead by Sekazi K. Mtingwa and Sandro Scandolo (C13) from IUPAP and Michele Zema (IUCr). Advanced light sources are playing a pivotal role in transforming a myriad of disciplines, including biology, chemistry, energy, environment, geoscience, materials science, medicine, paleontology, and physics. The proposed project will promote light source and crystallographic sciences in targeted regions of the world. It will focus on training researchers and engaging the public and governmental officials in discussions about the role that light source and crystallographic sciences could play to improve their countries' educational institutions, economies, social structures, health and world competitiveness.

The WG5 proposal on "A Global Approach to the Gender Gap in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics: how to measure it, how to reduce it" was successfully championed by IMU and IUPAC. Although IUPAP is not a lead applicant but it is a supporting applicant, IUPAP WG5 has been an active proponent of the proposal. Aside from IMU, IUPAC and IUPAP, IAU, IUBS, ICIAM, the UNESCO Section on Science Policy and Partnerships and GenderInSite will also be participating in the project. The IUPAP Working Group 5 (the Working Group on Women in Physics) contributes to some of the pioneering work in the area and who also sponsored surveys before its first two International Conferences. In 2008, it decided to expand the scope of these investigations and committed the American Institute of Physics Statistical Research Center to perform a Global Survey of Physicists with about 15,000 male and female respondents from 130 countries.

9. Obituary

IUPAP mourns the death of Prof. Yoshio Yamaguchi who passed away on August 26, 2016 in Tokyo. In 1993, Prof. Yamaguchi was the first Japanese to be elected as the President of the IUPAP. He was an active member of the theory group at CERN and he helped to establish the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies and the Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics in Korea.

IUPAP was also saddened to learn of the death of Pierre Binetruy on April 1, 2017. Pierre has served on the C4 commission on Astroparticle Physics since 2014 as well as the IUPAP ApPIC working group that he helped to form. Another prominent member of past IUPAP committee, Katharine Gebbe, has also recently passed away.

K.K. Phua, Secretary General, IUPAP