IUPAP Commission on Nuclear Physics (C12) Report to Commission Chairs and Executive Committee October 2015- Alinka Lépine-Szily, chair of C12 Commission

C12 officers

Chair: Alinka Lépine-Szily (2008) (2011) (2014), Brazil Vice-chair: Weiping Liu (2008)(2011)(2014), China Secretary: Joachim Stroth (2011)(2014), Germany

C12 members:

Ani Aprahamian (2014) USA Mahananda Dasgupta (2014) Australia Claes Fahlander (2011)(2014) Sweden Dominique Guilleamaud-Muller (2011)(2014) France Reiner Krücken (2014) Canada Eugenio Nappi (2014) Italy Hirokazu Tamura (2014) (Japan) Piet Van Duppen (2011)(2014) Belgium Rauno Julin (2011)(2014) Finland Milko Jaksic (2014) Croatia Andrey Fomichev (2014) Russia

C12 Associate Members (2013-2015)

Dénes Lajos Nagy (C13) Heidi Schellman (C11) Christoffel Walkens (C19)

Activities

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of C12 was held in Washington at the Southern Universities Research Association (SURA) headquarters, on June 5, 2015 with 10 out of 14 commission members present. The past-chair Hideyuki Sakai also participated the meeting.

As usual, the C12 meeting followed the anual meeting of the IUPAP Working Group 9 on International Collaboration in Nuclear Physics , which was held before the C12 meeting on the same venue. The day before, on June 4, WG 9 organized the biennial Nuclear Physics Symposium, which gives overviews of current forefront nuclear science research being addressed or intended to be addressed together with the upgrading of current facilities and planned large new facilities, followed by discussion by representatives from Asia,Europe, and the America's.

The members of WG9 and speakers of the Nuclear Science Symposium were welcomed as observers to attend the meeting of C12 and vice versa.

The major items of the agenda were:

IUPAP/IUPAC joint working party (JWP) in heavy elements

The IUPAP/IUPAC- JWP was established in 2012 to consider claims for the discovery of new elements with atomic numbers 113, 115, 117 and 118. The JWP is constituted by 6 members, 3 indicated by IUPAP and 3 by IUPAC. Recently the secretary of IUPAC sent communication noticing the completion of the Works and communication of decisions for the near future.

IUPAP Interim Working Group on Accelerator Physics

The C12 members present to the meeting had a positive view on the creation of a new WG on Accelerator Science (AS). The general opinion was that the WG on AS would touch fields like nuclear sciences, condensed matter, biology (XFEL, Synchrotron radiation, neutron facilities....), medical isotopes, medical, imaging (PET,X-Rays etc), plasma sciences, Space irradiation, computing simulation tools etc ..etc There are also about 12,000 accelerators used in industry as well. Thus the mandate of AS should be established based on the broad view to represent all related fields as well as to promote and gather all the potential practitioners and users to share their challenges and new developments.

The C12 members have indicated 3 names to the IUPAP General Secretary as candidates to the new Working Group: They are Mats Lindroos, Sytze Brandenburg and Yatsushigue Yano.

Presentations and requests for IUPAP sponsorship of conferences

At the anual meeting of C12, the following recommendations for the IUPAP conference sponsorship were suggested after oral presentations from each organizer. Conferences in 2016

Category A support:

The 26th International Nuclear Physics Conference (INPC2016) Adelaide, (Australia) September 11- 16, 2016 with highest priority.

The INPC 2016 conference is the next in the series of international conference in Nuclear Physics which brings together some 700 participants from around the world on a three year cycle. It is the only International conference covering all the subfields of nuclear physics both at the experimental and theoretical level. It is the main conference in the field of nuclear physics and has been rotating amongst the various continents (INPC2007 in Tokyo, INPC2010 in Vancouver, INPC 2013 in Firenze, INPC2016 in Adelaide). It is the venue at which the three IUPAP young investigator prizes in Nuclear Physics are awarded every three years.

Category B support:

The XIV International Conference on Nuclei in Cosmos (NIC2016) Niigata, Japan, June 19-24, 2016 with high priority.

The NIC Symposium covers a wide field of nuclear astrophysics, with the following topics: origin of the elements, stellar evolution and explosions, galactic chemical evolution as wells as experimental and observational results and techniques. NIC is the most important and largest international meeting in the field of Nuclear Astrophysics. It brings together every two years nuclear physicists, astronomers, astrophysicists, cosmochemists, and others interested in the scientific questions at the interface between nuclear physics and astrophysics.

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Nuclear Physics Selection process

Three IUPAP Prizes of Young Scientist in Nuclear Physics are awarded every three years at the International Conference on Nuclear Physics, sponsored by IUPAP. The next conference will be in September 2016 and the call for nominations was sent out in early September of 2015. Details of the selection process and the deadlines were discussed at the meeting.

Election of new associate members to other Commissions Eugenio Nappi was elected to be associate member at C11 Claes Fahlander was elected to be associate member at C13 Weiping Liu continues at C19 Ani Aparahamian was elected associate member to ApPIC