## **Commission C15: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics**

Chair: K. Gebbie, Physical Measurement Laboratory, NIST

Gaithersburg, MD, USA. gebbie@nist.gov

Vice Chair: D. Mathur, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research,

Mumbai, India: atmol1@tifr.res.in

Secretary: T. Azuma, Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics

Laboratory, RIKEN, Hirosawa, Wako, Japan Toshiyuki-azuma@riken.jp

## Report to the IUPAP Council & Commission Chairs meeting CERN, 1-2 October 2013

The two large international conferences in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics are the International Conference on Atomic Physics (ICAP) and the International Conference on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions (ICPEAC), which are held biennially on alternating years.

Commission C15 members met on 26 July 2013 during the XXVIII ICPEAC Conference in Lanzhou, China. Japan, China, Germany, France, Austria and the United States were represented by their Commission members. We were particularly pleased that the two previous C15 Chairs, Joachim Burgdörfer and Burkhard Fricke were able to attend and give us the benefit of their experience.

The meeting included a discussion of how Commission 15 might best contribute to the mission of IUPAP to assist in the worldwide development of physics, to foster international cooperation in physics, and to help in the application of physics toward solving problems of concern to humanity. It was suggested that one approach might be to sponsor Type D Conferences: Workshops in Developing Countries. One model might be the Industrial Physics Forum 2012: *Capacity Building for Industrial Physics in Developing and Emerging Economies,* sponsored jointly by American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the International Center for theoretical Physics (IPST).

The soliciting and ranking of nominations for the Young Scientist Prize in AMO Physics is highly competitive and taken very seriously by all members of the Commission. This year, thanks to our Secretary's efforts, we had an all-time high number of 38 candidates, 24 who were still eligible from previous years and 14 new nominations. The winner is Dr. Till Jahnke from the University of Frankfurt "for his groundbreaking experiments on Interatomic Coulombic Decay – From experimental proof to making a movie".

The proposed change in the name of the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize was also discussed by the Commission members and former Chairs. They generally felt the present name was not a serious problem, and for the prestige and integrity of the prize, the name should remain the same.

## Conference support for 2013

27th International Conference on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions

(ICPEAC XXVII)

Location: Lanzhou, China Date: 24 - 30 July 2013

Chair: Toshiyuki Azuma (RIKEN, Tokyo)

Conference Type: A

## 21st International Conference on Laser Spectroscopy (ICOLS)

Location: Berkeley, CA USA Date: 9 - 12 June 2013

Co-Chairs: Dmitr Budker and Harmut Haffner (UC Berkekey)

The 2014 Meeting of Commission 15 will take place during the 24th International Conference on Atomic Physics (ICAP), 3-8 August, at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel in Washington, D.C. USA. The event will be hosted by the Joint Quantum Institute, a partnership between the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the University of Maryland, with support from the Laboratory for Physical Sciences.