Report to IUPAP Council and Commission Chairs Meeting

IUPAP C17: Commission on Laser Physics and Photonics 6 Sep. 2020

1. ACTIVITIES SINCE THE LAST C&CC MEETING (OCTOBER 2019)

Due to COVID-19, many activities of C17 have been slowed down or postponed as we adjusted to the new reality.

1.1. Upcoming IUPAP supported conference: LANE 2020

The IUPAP supported 11th CIRP Conference on Photonic Technologies (LANE 2020), which was initially planned to be held in Fuerth, Germany from the 7 Sep. 2020, will now be a virtual conference held online. The organizers of LANE 2020 have made considerable efforts to maintain the high quality of the conference, capitalizing on its virtual nature. Aside from live talks and discussions, the organizers are providing:

- pre-recorded videos of talks for viewing at any time
- a "Channel in the Forum" to discuss specific topics with other experts
- networking with their "Matchmaking" tool, use of chat function to discuss with a particular person
- virtual "Bar Tables" during coffee and lunch breaks to meet new people
- "Conference Warming" to mingle with other participants via online games.

It seems that LANE 2020 plans to provide sufficient added value to entice participation, and could be an excellent example for future virtual conferences, especially if the current pandemic continues. Even without the pandemic, it could become a role-model to knock down walls that had held back scientists from participating in such conferences.

1.2. Articles to the IUPAP Newsletter

Members of C17 have been actively contributing to IUPAP's newsletter. These include:

December 2019 Issue:

• "Illuminating Education with the International Day of Light in 2019", by Cather Simpson and John Dudley

March 2020 Issue:

- "Optics and Applications to Sustainable Development (OPTISUD)", by Mourad Zghal (Type D conference related to C17 supported by IUPAP)
- "International Conference on Attosecond Science and Applications 2019 (ATTO)" (C17 related conference supported by IUPAP)

1.3. International Day of Light

The International Day of Light (IDL, 16 May) came as the pandemic was spreading, but efforts were made to celebrate IDL online. According to the IDL website, "Some highlights include over 300 registered events in 69 countries, an estimated 750,000 event participants, and 400,000 social media impressions. On Twitter, #IDL2020 trended globally on 16 May. In fact, #IDL2020 was used 30% more in May 2020 than #IDL2019 was in all of 2019." Members of C17 also participated in international conferences that celebrated IDL, but virtually.

1.4. Conference Support

This year, C17 has received one application for conference support, from the 8th International Conference on Attosecond Science and Technology (ATTO 2021), to be held in Orlando, Florida, USA in July 2021. This conference is a series, with the last conference (ATTO 2019, Budapest, Hungary) also supported by IUPAP. T. Ozaki has asked the members of C17 for their opinion, and have received strong support. Given this overwhelming approval, C17 has proposed the ATTO 2021 conference for Type B support from IUPAP.

There were opinions from multiple members of C17 that perhaps IUPAP should examine the organizers' contingency plans if the pandemic limits or restricts international participants to attend the conference.

1.5. C17 Meeting

Due to the on-going pandemic, we have decided to postpone this year's C17 meeting to a later date, most probably to be held online.

APPENDICES

Appendix A - Officers and Members of C17 (as of September 2020)

Officers:

Chair: Tsuneyuki Ozaki (2014) (2017); Email: ozaki@emt.inrs.ca

Vice-Chair: Qihuang Gong (2011) (2014) (2017); Email: qhgong@pku.edu.cn

Secretary: Roberto Pini (2014) (2017); Email: roberto.pini@cnr.it

Past Chair: Deborah Kane (2011) (2014); Email: deb.kane@mq.edu.au

Members:

Kai-Mei Camilla Fu (2017); Email: kaimeifu@uw.edu
Alexey Kalachev (2017); Email: a.a.kalachev@mail.ru
Kathy Lüdge (2017); Email: kathy.luedge@tu-berlin.de
Andre Luiten (2017); Email: andre.luiten@adelaide.edu.au
Kevin F. MacDonald (2017); Email: kfm@orc.soton.ac.uk
Ci-Ling Pan (2011) (2017); Email: clpan@phys.nthu.edu.tw
M. Cather Simpson (2017); Email: c.simpson@auckland.ac.nz
Yoshiro Takahashi (2017); Email: yitk@scphys.kyoto-u.ac.jp
Gintaras Valušis (2017); Email: gintaras.valusis@ftmc.lt

Parinda Vasa (2017); Email: parinda@iitb.ac.in

Arkadiusz Wójs (2014) (2017); Email: arkadiusz.wojs@pwr.edu.pl

Associate Members (mandate until the end of 2021):

Nicholas P. Bigelow (representing the Joint Council on Quantum Electronics) John Harvey (representing the International Commission for Optics) John Dudley (representing the International Day of Light)