IUPAP Commission on Computational Physics C20

Report on 2013-2014 activities

Conferences:

The Conferences on Computational Physics (CCP) form an international series of conferences which has served as a lively forum for computational physicists from around the world. Since 1998, the CCP conferences rotate yearly between the European/African continents, the Asian/Oceanian continents and the Americas. In 1997, the CCP conference series succeeded the EPS-APS Joint Conferences "Physics Computing" (PC) organized annually since 1989.

The XXVI IUPAP Conference on Computational Physics CCP2014 was held in Boston, USA and hosted by Boston Uinversityon August 11-14 (ccp2014.bu.edu). There were 365 participants, of these 140 from the greater Boston area, 15 plenary talks, 52 invited talks, 100 contributed talks and 100 poster contributions. It was chaired by Professor Anders Sandvik. The conference spans the entire field of computational physics, from astrophysics to nanoscience. The XXVIII IUPAP Conference on Computational Physics CCP2015 will be chaired by Professor Purusattam Ray at the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, India and Sitangshu Bikas Santra of the Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati, India. The dates for the meeting are December 2-5, 2015. The venue is the IIT campus in Guwahati in the state of Assam, India. CCP2016 will be held in Pretoria, South Africa. It will be chaired by Professor Nithaya Chetty of the University of Pretoria. CCP2017 will be organized in Paris, France by Professor Rodolphe Vuilleumier of the Ecole Normale Supérieure (rue d'Ulm), Paris.

Young Scientist Prize:

The Young Scientist Prize in Computational Physics was awarded to Professor Mathieu Salanne of the Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris.

The number of candidates is very low. The commission has discussed this extensively.

Trondheim, October 17, 2014.

Alex Hansen

Alex Hansen

Chair, C20