Brief Report on Commission on Computational Physics (C20) Activities

1) C20 Commission

Chair: Hai-Qing Lin (China)

Vice-chair: David P. Landau (US)

Secretary: Joan Adler (Israel)

Members:

Constantia Alexandrou (Cyprus)

Mark Brachet (France)

Ronald Dickman (Brasil);

Hans Fangohr (UK);

Suklyun Hong (Korea);

Masatoshi Imada (Japan);

Georg Kresse (Austria);

Richard Liska (Czech Republic);

Priya Mahadezvan (India);

Lev Shchur (Russia);

Maria-Roser Valent (Germany);

2) Conference on Computational Physics (CCP) and Others

- (a) CCP2014 was successfully held 11-14 August 2014 in Boston, Massachusetts, USA, organized by Professor Anders Sandvik of Boston University.
- (b) Conference "Computer Simulations in Physics and beyond" was successfully held 06-10 September 2015 in Moscow, Russia, organized by Professor Lev Shchur of Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics, Scientific Center in Chernogolovka and National Research University Higher School of Economics. Details could be found in: http://csp2015.ac.ru.
- (c) CCP2015 will be taken place at the Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati, Assam, India from 2 to 5 December 2015, organized by Professors Sitangshu Bikas Santra of the Indian Institute of Technology at Guwahati and Purusattam Ray of the Institute for Mathematical Sciences in Chennai at the IIT campus in Guwahati. More information on the conference can be found in: http://www.iitg.ernet.in/ccp2015/public.
- (d) CCP2016 is going to be held in South Africa, 10-14 July 2016, organized by Prof. Nithaya Chetty and Prof. Brian Masara.

3) Young Scientist Prize (YSP)

- (a) The 2014 YSP has been awarded to Professor Mathieu Salanne, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris "for the development of appropriate methods to allow realistic atomistic simulation of molten salts and ionic liquids in situations of relevance to electrochemistry." The prize will be presented at the CCP2015 in December this year, as Dr Salanne could not attend the CCP2014.
- (b) The 2015 YSP will be awarded to Dr. Wei-Min Wang at Laser-plasma physics of the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China "for his significant achievements in computational plasma physics with applications to advanced schemes of inertial confined fusion and novel laser-plasma based particle accelerators and radiation sources." The prize will be presented at the CCP2015 in December this year.
- (c) The 2016 YSP is calling for nominations. The announcement is attached.

H.Q. Lin, C20