Report from the C3 committee:

1) The main efforts of the C3 committee this year were in organizing the StatPhys meeting in Lyon in July next year. A poster for the meeting is attached. We are still somewhat concerned about this meeting since some of the promised funding still did not materialize. We are also busy in collecting nomination for the Boltzmann medal, which had become a highly advertised and highly coveted recognition for outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. Lastly we are also collecting nominations for the Young Investigator Award that will be bestowed in the same Stat Phys meeting.

2) As the Chair of the C3 committee I was invited and accepted to join the board of a new series of meetings, "Dynamic Days Central Asia", meetings that will take place in less favored countries like Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan etc. While returning to the glory of the Khiva academy with Al-Khawarizmi and his like will take time, I find this effort worthwhile. It will be interesting also to see how Iran will deal with visa issues to an Israeli.

3) As the president of the Advisory Committee to the International Institute of Physics in Natal, Brazil, I proposed to host the next meeting of IUPAP there, but did not hear yet the decision regarding this offer.

Itamar Procaccia, Chair, C3 committee

STATPHYS 26 JULY 18-22, 2016 Lyon PALAIS DES CONGRÈS

TOPICS

- GENERAL MATHEMATICAL ASPECTS
- OUT OF EQUILIBRIUM RESULTS
- QUANTUM FLUIDS AND CONDENSED MATTER
- DISORDERED AND GLASSY SYSTEMS
- BIOLOGICAL PHYSICS
- SOFT MATTER
- NONLINEAR PHYSICS
- INTERDISCIPLINARY AND COMPLEX SYSTEMS

Plenary Speakers

Uri ALON (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel) Clemens BECHINGER (University of Stuttgart, Germany) William BIALEK (Princeton University, USA) Leticia CUGLIANDOLO (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France) Daan FRENKEL (University of Cambridge, UK) Mehran KARDAR (MIT, USA) Daniel LATHROP (University of Maryland, USA) Roderich MOESSNER (MPI-PKS Dresden, Germany) Sriram RAMASWAMY (TIFR Hyderabad and IISc, India) Laure SAINT-RAYMOND (ENS Paris, France)

2016 BOLTZMANN MEDAL CEREMONY



IUPAP C3 Commission









Chair Thierry Dauxois Vice Chairs Angel Alastuey Peter Holdsworth Michel Peyrard Nicolas Taberlet

Nicolas Taberlet (Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon)

Chair

Itamar Procaccia (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)

Vice Chair Julia Yeomans (Oxford University, UK)

Secretary Rahul Pandit (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India)



http://statphys26.sciencesconf.org/