C8 - Commission on Semiconductors

by Michael Thewalt (secretary C8)

IUPAP C8 Commission met on 12 August 2014 during the 32'nd International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (ICPS) in Austin, Texas, USA

1. Young Scientist Prize in Semiconductor Physics (YSP-SP)

A report was made of the award procedure and outcome for the 2014 Young Scientist Prizes. The awards were advertised on the IUPAP website and by circulation to the mailing list of the ICPS conference, as well as individual national Physical associations through committee member contacts. The original closing date of January 31 attracted no nominations, so this was extended to March 31. With the help of another mailout to the ICPS mailing list, and further efforts by C8 members to publicize the prizes, a total of nine nominations were received. While there was continuing concern about the relatively small number of nominations, it was agreed that there were many very strong nominations amongst this group. Following ranking of the nominations by the whole committee it was clear that there were two particularly outstanding nominations and it was agreed that the Prizes for 2014 should be awarded to:

Rahul Raveendran Nair, School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Manchester, UK and

Xiaodong Xu, Department of Physics, University of Washington, USA

The two prizewinners were nominated as invited speakers for the ICPS conference in Austin, where Dr. Xu presented his work and was presented with his IUPAP medal and certificate. Regrettably, Dr. Nair was unable to attend due to delays in obtaining a US visa to attend the conference.

2. Planning and Supervision of ICPS series of Conferences

A report was given on the organization ICPS 2014, Austin TX, Aug. 10-15/08/2014, which was warmly received. A further report was given on preparations for ICPS 2016 to be held in Beijing, China, 31/7/2016 to 5/8/2016 which were well in hand. Formal approval was given for the announcement of the 33'rd ICPS to be held in Beijing, which will also be recommended for support as an IUPAP type A conference.

Two excellent bids were presented for ICPS 2018, one from the Ioffe Institute, St. Petersburg, Russia, and the other proposal for Montpellier, France. Questions were raised regarding the venue/transportation/accommodations for the St. Petersburg bid, and the proposed time of the Montpellier bid, the first week of September. The Montpellier organizers subsequently changed the proposed time to either the last week of July or the first week of August. After further discussion at the meeting, and obtaining input from commission members who were not present at the meeting but were provided with both bids, it was decided to give tentative approval for the 2018 ICPS to be held at Montpellier, France.

A representative from Australia was present during the above presentations, as Australia is considering preparing a bid for the ICPS in 2020.

3. Supporting Other Conferences

Two bids were received for IUPAP conference support in 2015, including detailed information on earlier conferences in the two series. After careful discussion it was decided to support the 2015 EP2DS-MSS conference (21st International Conference on Electronic Properties of Two-Dimensional Systems and 17th International Conference on Modulated Semiconductor Structures), to be held in Sendai, Japan 26-31/7/2015 as a Type A conference. The 17'th International conference on II-VI compounds and Related Materials, to be held in Paris, France, 13-18/9/2015 was recommended for support as a Type B conference.

4. Commission membership

Detailed consideration was given to the nominations made by the National Liaison Committees. Further discussion centered on the need for national and gender representation, and also the need for members who would be actively involved in the work of the Commission. After discussion, a slate of 14 nominees and 1 reserve was recommended by the Commission.

5. Next meeting:

During EP2DS-MSS meeting, Sendai, Japan, 26-31/7/2015.

Commission membership 20011-14.

OFFICERS:		Country:	E-Mail:
Chair Vice Chair Secretary	R. J. Nicholas S. J. Lee M.Thewalt	UK Korea Canada	r.nicholas@physics.ox.ac.uk leesj@dongguk.edu thewalt@sfu.ca
MEMBERS:			
	D. Awschalom G. Borgs K. Ensslin R. Haug Per-Olof Holtz B. Koiler J. Kossut Arnel Salvador P. Senellart	US Belgium Switzerlad Germany Sweden Brazil Poland Philippines France	awsch@physics.ucsb.edu borghs@imec.be ensslin@phys.ethz.ch haug@nano.uni-hanover.de poh@ifm.liu.se bk@if.ufrj.br kossut@ifpan.edu.pl arnels@nip.upd.edu.ph Pascale.senellart@lpn.cnrs.fr
	R.Suris S. Tarucha J. Petta	Russia Japan USA	suris@theory.ioffe.ru tarucha@ap.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp petta@princeton.edu
	J. Pekola	Finland	pekola@boojum.hut.fi