## IUPAP Commission on Semiconductor Physics (C8) Report on Activities in 2017/2018 for the May, 2018 C&CC Meeting

Chair Vice-Chair	Rolf Haug Amalia Patanè	Germany United Kingdom	haug@nano.uni-hannover.de amalia.patane@nottingham.ac.uk
Secretary	Young Dong Kim	Korea	ydkim@khu.ac.kr
Member	Qi-Kun Xue	China	qkxue@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn
Member	Gloria Platero	Spain	gplatero@icmm.csic.es
Member	Yasuhiko Arakawa	Japan	arakawa@iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Member	Håkan Pettersson	Sweden	hakan.pettersson@hh.se
Member	Maria Grazia Grimaldi	Italy	mariagrazia.grimaldi@ct.infn.it
Member	Mikhael M. Glazov	Russia	glazov@coherent.ioffe.ru
Member	Uli Zülicke	New Zealand	uli.zuelicke@vuw.ac.nz
Member	Yong P. Chen	United States	yongchen@purdue.edu
Member	Rodorigo B. Capaz	Brazil	capaz@if.ufrj.br
Member	Andrew Sachrajda	Canada	andy.sachrajda@nrc.ca
Member	Elvira Fortunato	Portugal	emf@fct.unl.pt
Observer	Michael Thewalt	Canada	thewalt@sfu.ca

The last report about the activities of C8 was submitted in September 2017 by Michael Thewalt.

At the 29<sup>th</sup> General Assembly of IUPAP in October 2017 the new C8 commission was elected which started serving January 1<sup>st</sup> 2018. The new members were welcomed and the departing members were thanked for their work.

The commission being in office until December 31<sup>st</sup> 2017 published the call for the two 2018 IUPAP young scientist prizes (YSP) in semiconductor physics with the deadline being end of December 2017. By December 31<sup>st</sup> 2017 11 valid nominations were received. These were more nominations than received in previous calls. Apparently the deadline of end of December encourages people to think about possible nominations and to submit them on time. The new commission was constantly kept informed about the whole process of the call.

A further nomination was received on January 4<sup>th</sup> 2018 and the new commission, then being in office, decided to reject it as an invalid nomination for the 2018 call but to retain it for the next call.

The secretary of C8 organized the voting to select the two prize winners during February 2018. A lot of really strong nominations were submitted, so it was a difficult task to select the winners. The final voting of the commission led to the result that the two YSP winners in semiconductor physics of 2018 will be

*Dr. Jean-Christophe Blancon*, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA, and *Prof. Heejun Yang*, Sungkyunkwan University, Suwon, Korea.

The prizes will be awarded during the closing session of the 34<sup>th</sup> International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (ICPS) which will be held in Montpellier, France, from July 29<sup>th</sup> until August 3<sup>rd</sup> 2018.

As IUPAP sponsored conferences in 2018 there will be the 34<sup>th</sup> ICPS in Montpellier and the 20<sup>th</sup> International Conference of Superlattices, Nanostructures, and Nanodevices (ICSNN 2018), which will be held in Madrid from July 23<sup>rd</sup> until July 27<sup>th</sup> 2018.

The next meeting of the C8 commission where the new commission will meet in person for the first time will take place in Montpellier, France, on Tuesday, July 31<sup>st</sup> 2018 during the 34<sup>th</sup> ICPS.