IUPAP Commission on Semiconductor Physics (C8) Report on Activities in 2018 for the November, 2018 C&CC Meeting

Chair Vice-Chair	Rolf Haug Amalia Patanè	Germany United Kingdom	haug@nano.uni-hannover.de amalia.patane@nottingham.ac.uk
Secretary	Young Dong Kim	Korea	ydkim@khu.ac.kr
Member	Qi-Kun Xue	China	qkxue@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn
Member	Gloria Platero	Spain	gplatero@icmm.csic.es
Member	Yasuhiko Arakawa	Japan	arakawa@iis.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Member	Håkan Pettersson	Sweden	hakan.pettersson@hh.se
Member	Maria Grazia Grimaldi	Italy	mariagrazia.grimaldi@ct.infn.it
Member	Mikhael M. Glazov	Russia	glazov@coherent.ioffe.ru
Member	Uli Zülicke	New Zealand	uli.zuelicke@vuw.ac.nz
Member	Yong P. Chen	United States	yongchen@purdue.edu
Member	Rodorigo B. Capaz	Brazil	capaz@if.ufrj.br
Member	Andrew Sachrajda	Canada	andy.sachrajda@nrc.ca
Member	Elvira Fortunato	Portugal	emf@fct.unl.pt
Observer	Michael Thewalt	Canada	thewalt@sfu.ca

The last report about the activities of C8 was submitted in April 2018.

There was a regular email exchange among the members. In addition the commission met in person (9 members were present) in Montpellier, France, on Tuesday, July 31st 2018 during the 34th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (ICPS).

As IUPAP sponsored conference B the 20th International Conference of Superlattices, Nanostructures, and Nanodevices (ICSNN 2018) was held in Madrid from July 23rd until July 27th 2018. It had more than 200 participants and was a big success in comparison to some of the previous conferences.

As IUPAP sponsored conference A the 34th ICPS was held in Montpellier from July 29th until August 3rd. It had more than 900 participants. Organizers of ICPS 2018 complained that for 1100 submitted abstracts only around 900 participants showed up. They partly blame the large number of satellite conferences for having less participants than expected. C 8 is not able to do something about that but will observe this subject.

The secretary of C8, Young Dong Kim, organized the voting to select the two prize winners for the IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes in Semiconductor Physics during February 2018. It was a difficult task to select the winners among the really strong 11 candidates. The final voting of the commission led to the result that the two YSP winners in semiconductor physics of 2018 are

Dr. Jean-Christophe Blancon, Rice University, USA, and *Prof. Heejun Yanq*, Sungkyunkwan University, Suwon, Korea.

The prizes were awarded at the end of the 34th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (ICPS) in the afternoon of August 3rd 2018. After the award session the two prize winners gave plenary talks about their fields of research. Although it was Friday afternoon the lecture hall was nicely full.

After this award session and before the closing session of the ICPS in addition 12 poster prizes which were cosponsored by IUPAP C8 were awarded to students.

During the meeting of C8 in Montpellier the organizers of ICPS 2020 presented their plans. The members of C8 voted unanimously for having ICPS 2020 in Sidney. Within C8 there was a preference for having a Nobel laureates symposium on Sunday afternoon of ICPS. Organizers of Sidney asked for additional suggestions in respect to the lists concerning their International advisory committee, program committee and topics. Via email exchange suggestions of the members of C8 were forwarded to the organizers of ICPS 2020 during August and September 2018.

During the meeting of C8 in Montpellier the bidding for ICPS 2022 was opened by David Snoke presenting preliminary plans for having ICPS 2022 in Pittsburgh. After the C8 meeting a second bid was put forward by Pavel Hawrylak for organizing ICPS 2022 in Ottawa. Before finalizing the decision C8 wants to see more details about the plans, especially detailed budget plans. The final decision of C 8 will take place during the next meeting of C 8 in 2019.

The International Conference on Defects in Semiconductors (ICDS) was approved as an IUPAP sponsored conference B for 2019.

Names of new associate members were discussed at the C8 meeting and via email.

C8 thanked Mike Thewalt for having served for such a long time in different functions in C8 at the end of the C8 meeting in Montpellier.

.