

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

To stimulate and facilitate international cooperation in physics and the worldwide development of science.

C9. Commission on Magnetism - Report 2018

Officers 2018

Chair: **Burkard Hillebrands**, Germany (2014) (2017) Vice Chair: **YoshiChika Otani**, Japan (2011) (2014) (2017)

Secretary: Kai Liu, U.S.A. (2014) (2017)

Members 2018-2020

Elisabetta Agostinelli, Italy (2017)
Fernando Luís Araujo Machado, Brazil (2017)
Joël Cibert, France (2014) (2017)
Luis Miguel García Vinuesa, Spain (2014) (2017)
Can-Ming Hu, Canada (2014) (2017)
Jae Il Lee, Korea (2014) (2017)
Minn-Tsong Lin, Taiwan (2017)
Nikolay Mushnikov, Russian Federation (2017)
Arun Kumar Nigam, India (2017)
Oksana Zaharko, Switzerland (2017)
Jianhua Zhao, China (2017)

Meetings

2018:

No C.9 Commission Meeting has been held so far in 2018. The next meeting will be held during the ICM Conference in San Francisco, July 15-20, 2018.

Conferences

The main event sponsored by C.9 in 2018 will be the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM) in San Francisco, July 15-20, 2018 (http://icm2018sf.org)

ICM is a major international conference series with more than 2000 attendees expected from all over the world. It continues a series of meetings held every three years, most

recently in Barcelona, Busan, Karlsruhe, and Kyoto. ICM2018 addresses fundamental and applied research related to magnetism. Conference Chair is Allan MacDonald, Secretary General is Liesl Folks, and Program Chair is Mark Stiles.

Furthermore C.9 sponsors the 23rd International Colloquium on Magnetic Films and Surfaces (ICMFS-2018), which will be held during July 22-27, 2018 on the campus of the University of California in Santa Cruz CA, USA (https://icmfs2018.physics.ucsc.edu). Conference Chair is Peter Fischer.

Magnetism Awards

The **IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal** is awarded every third year on the occasion of the ICM conference. The next Magnetism Award and Néel Medal will be given in 2018 at the ICM in San Francisco. The selection process is underway and near completion.

The IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in the field of Magnetism is awarded every year. The 2018 selection process is underway and near completion.

Both the 2018 IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal and the 2016, 2017, and 2018 IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes in the field of Magnetism will be awarded at the upcoming ICM conference.

Update to previous report: The 2017 Young Scientist Prize in the field of Magnetism is awarded to Dr. Luqiao Liu, MIT, U.S.A. The citation reads: For the pioneering demonstrations of the spin Hall effect excitation of ferromagnetic resonance, and of the surprisingly large spin Hall angles of particular heavy metals as determined by spintorque ferromagnetic resonance, for seminal experiments and analysis of magnetic switching and auto-oscillation driven by that spin Hall effect, and for continuing research advancing the understanding and applicability of spin-orbit torques. The winner has been announced on the IUPAP website. Dr. Liu will receive the award at the next ICM conference, which will be in July 2018 in San Francisco.