

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

To stimulate and facilitate international cooperation in physics and the worldwide development of science.

C9. Commission on Magnetism - Report 2019

Officers 2019

Chair: **Burkard Hillebrands**, Germany (2014) (2017) Vice Chair: **YoshiChika Otani**, Japan (2011) (2014) (2017)

Secretary: **Kai Liu**, U.S.A. (2014) (2017)

Members 2018-2020

Elisabetta Agostinelli, Italy (2017)
Fernando Luís Araujo Machado, Brazil (2017)
Joël Cibert, France (2014) (2017)
Luis Miguel García Vinuesa, Spain (2014) (2017)
Can-Ming Hu, Canada (2014) (2017)
Jae Il Lee, Korea (2014) (2017)
Minn-Tsong Lin, Taiwan (2017)
Nikolay Mushnikov, Russian Federation (2017)
Arun Kumar Nigam, India (2017)
Oksana Zaharko, Switzerland (2017)
Jianhua Zhao, China (2017)

Meetings

2019:

No meeting of the C9 Commission took place in 2019. The next regular meeting will take place during the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM) in Shanghai, July 04-09, 2021 (http://www.icm2021.com).

Conferences

The next main event sponsored by C.9 will be the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM) in Shanghai, July 04-09, 2021 (http://www.icm2021.com).

Furthermore, C9 is sponsoring the 2019 International Workshop on Nanomagnetic Materials, Applications & Properties (NAP-2019), which will be held during September 15-20, 2019, in Zatoka, Odessa Region, Ukraine (https://nap.sumdu.edu.ua/in-dex.php/nap/nap2019). The conference is co-Chaired by Valentine Novosad and Alexander Pogrebnjak.

Magnetism Awards

In 2019 the **IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal** was not awarded. It is awarded every three years. The next call for nomination will take place in early 2021, and the award will be presented during the ceremony at the ICM 2021.

The **IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in the field of Magnetism** is awarded every year to a young scientist for theoretical or experimental work in fields of fundamental or applied magnetism. Recipient of the 2019 Award is:

Dr. Julia Mundy, Harvard University

"For pathbreaking research on electric field control of magnetism using epitaxially designed multiferroics."

The award committee consists of members of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism, together with past recipients of the Magnetism Award and Néel Medal. All members of the magnetism community were invited to make nominations.

The award ceremony will take place at the next International Conference on Magnetism, which is the ICM 2021 in Shanghai.