

To stimulate and facilitate international cooperation in physics and the worldwide development of science.

C9. Commission on Magnetism - Report 2020

Officers 2020

Chair:	Burkard Hillebrands, Germany (2014) (2017)
Vice Chair:	YoshiChika Otani , Japan (2011) (2014) (2017)
Secretary:	Kai Liu, U.S.A. (2014) (2017)

Members 2018-2020

Elisabetta Agostinelli, Italy (2017) Fernando Luís Araujo Machado, Brazil (2017) Joël Cibert, France (2014) (2017) Luis Miguel García Vinuesa, Spain (2014) (2017) Can-Ming Hu, Canada (2014) (2017) Jae II Lee, Korea (2014) (2017) Minn-Tsong Lin, Taiwan (2017) Nikolay Mushnikov, Russian Federation (2017) Arun Kumar Nigam, India (2017) Oksana Zaharko, Switzerland (2017) Jianhua Zhao, China (2017)

Meetings

2020:

No meeting of the C9 Commission took place in 2020. The next regular meeting will take place during the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM) in Shanghai, July 2022 (http://www.icm2021.com).

Conferences

The next main event sponsored by C.9 will be the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM) in Shanghai. It was originally scheduled for July 04-09, 2021. Due to the corona pandemic and with the consent of C.9 it is now shifted to July 3-8, 2022, see: <u>http://www.icm2021.com</u>.

Conference Sponsorships

The C.9 Commission has supported the proposal for the conference "Trends in Magnetism, Céfalu, Italy originally scheduled for September 7-11, 2020. Due to the corona pandemic, this conference is now shifted by one year to September 6-10, 2021.



International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

To stimulate and facilitate international cooperation in physics and the worldwide development of science.

Magnetism Awards

In 2020 the **IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal** was not awarded. It is awarded every three years. The next call for nomination will be issued in late 2020, and the award will be presented during the ceremony at the ICM 2021.

The **IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in the field of Magnetism** is awarded every year to a young scientist for theoretical or experimental work in fields of fundamental or applied magnetism. Recipient of the 2020 Award is:

Dr. Jiadong Zang, University of New Hampshire

"For outstanding theoretical studies of the interplay between magnetism and topology".

The award committee consists of members of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism, together with past recipients of the Magnetism Award and Néel Medal. All members of the magnetism community were invited to make nominations.

The award ceremony will take place at the next International Conference on Magnetism (ICM 2021), to be held in Shanghai, China, during July 4-9, 2021.