

To stimulate and facilitate international cooperation in physics and the worldwide development of science.

C9. Commission on Magnetism - Report 2018

Officers 2018

Chair:	Burkard Hillebrands, Germany (2014) (2017)
Vice Chair:	YoshiChika Otani, Japan (2011) (2014) (2017)
Secretary:	Kai Liu, U.S.A. (2014) (2017)

Members 2018-2020

Elisabetta Agostinelli, Italy (2017) Fernando Luís Araujo Machado, Brazil (2017) Joël Cibert, France (2014) (2017) Luis Miguel García Vinuesa, Spain (2014) (2017) Can-Ming Hu, Canada (2014) (2017) Jae Il Lee, Korea (2014) (2017) Minn-Tsong Lin, Taiwan (2017) Nikolay Mushnikov, Russian Federation (2017) Arun Kumar Nigam, India (2017) Oksana Zaharko, Switzerland (2017) Jianhua Zhao, China (2017)

Meetings

2018:

The C9 Commission Meeting was held on July 16, 2018 during the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM) in San Francisco, California, USA.

1. Minutes of the last Commission Meeting in Barcelona, Spain during ICM 2015 was approved.

2. Current C9 Chair Burkard Hillebrands and former C.9 Chair Xiaofeng Jin provided a report of the IUPAP Council and Commission Chairs meetings.

3. The Chair of the ICM 2015, Amílcar Labarta, provided the final report of the ICM 2015 in Barcelona, Spain.

4. The Chair of the ICM 2018, Allan MacDonald, reported the status of the ongoing ICM in San Francisco. The conference marked the time time ICM was brought back to the USA since 1985. This time the conference was also sponsored by American Institute of Physics Publishing (AIPP) and IEEE Magnetics Society (MagSoc). The Magnetism Commission thanked the Conference Chair and his team for their outstanding efforts in organizing this conference.

5. The Chair of the ICM 2021, Xiaofeng Jin, reported on the preparation of the upcoming ICM 2021 Conference in Shanghai, China. The Conference will be sponsored by IUPAP, National Natural Science Foundation of China, and Fudan University. The Conference venue will be the Shanghai Convention & Exhibition Center of International Sourcing. The Conference Management Committee hass been formed.

6. The next conference, ICM 2024, received two strong proposals. Dr. Elisabetta Agostinelli presented the bid from the Italian Magnetism Association (AIMagn), for organizing the conference in Bologna, Italy. Dr. Jan Vogel presented the bid from France Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Grenoble, for organizing the conference in Lyon, France. The Commission deemed both proposals as strong and viable options, and thanked both groups for their efforts in putting in the bids. At the end, the Commission selected the AIMagn to organize the ICM2024 in Bologna, Italy.

7. The Commission decided to spend its budget allocation from IUPAP on its Commission Meeting at the ICM2018 and the Awards Dinner with recipients of the 2018 IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal and winners of the 2016-2018 Young Scientist Prize in Magnetism.

8. C9 Chair Burkard Hillebrands initiated discussions on how to enhance connection between IUPAP C9 and IEEE MagSoc, for example, on coordination of Conferences and Summer Schools organized by the different organizations. The Commission welcomed this effort and the C9 Chair agreed to follow up with MagSoc.

Conferences

The main event sponsored by C9 in 2018 was the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM) in San Francisco, July 15-20, 2018 (http://icm2018sf.org)

ICM is a major international conference series with over 1500 registrants expected from all over the world. It continues a series of meetings held every three years, most recently in Barcelona, Busan, Karlsruhe, and Kyoto. ICM2018 addresses fundamental and applied research related to magnetism. Conference Chair is Allan MacDonald, Secretary General is Liesl Folks, and Program Chair is Mark Stiles.

Furthermore C9 sponsored the 23rd International Colloquium on Magnetic Films and Surfaces (ICMFS-2018), which was held during July 22-27, 2018 on the campus of the University of California in Santa Cruz CA, USA (https://icmfs2018.physics.ucsc.edu). Conference Chair was Peter Fischer.

Magnetism Awards

The **IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal** is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to fundamental and applied magnetism. It is presented every three years at the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM). Recipients of the 2018 Award are:

Dr. Samuel D. Bader, Argonne National Laboratory

"For outstanding and sustained experimental contributions to the field of magnetic surfaces, films, and nanostructures".

Prof. Ramamoorthy Ramesh, University of California, Berkeley

"For groundbreaking discoveries in novel multiferroic and magnetoelectric materials and their applications in future technologies".

Prof. Kang L. Wang, University of California, Los Angeles

"For the discovery of chiral Majorana fermions and outstanding contributions to topological spintronics".

The **IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in the field of Magnetism** is awarded every year to a young scientist for theoretical or experimental work in fields of fundamental or applied magnetism. Recipient of the 2018 Award is:

Dr. Shinichiro Seki, RIKEN

"For discovery of multiferroic behavior and electrically controllable skyrmions in insulating chiral magnets".

The award committee consists of members of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism, together with past recipients of the Magnetism Award and Néel Medal. All members of the magnetism community were invited to make nominations.

Both the 2018 IUPAP Magnetism Award and Néel Medal and the 2016, 2017, and 2018 IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes in the field of Magnetism were awarded at the ICM 2018 Conference in San Francisco, CA.