IUPAP Commission 8 on SemiconductorsReport on Its Activities (2010)

IUPAP C8 Commission met on 27 July 2010 during ICPS Conf. Seoul

1. Young Scientist Prize in Semiconductor Physics (YSP-SP)

YSP-SP Committee (chair: K. von Klitzing) was organized with selection by voting within the commission members.

A shortlist of 4 was agreed by voting and the shortlist candidates were asked to give invited presentations at a special session of ICPS, Seoul. Following the presentations the Commission met and agreed the award of two prizes to Pablo Jarillo-Herrero and Yuanbo Zhang, with highly commended certificates to Ian Appelbaum and Jannik Mayer. The prizes were presented at the closing ceremony of the conference.

The YSP session was highly successful with four excellent presentations and was very well attended with an audience of several hundred delegates.

1660€ (2000\$) of commission funds were used to sponsor 4 Young Author Best Paper prizes also presented at the ICPS conference.

2. Planing and Supervision of ICPS (Int. Conf. on Phys. of Semiconductors) series of conferences

Reports were given on ICPS 2010 (Seoul), covering attendance, papers submitted, publication and finances and the organizers congratulated on the organization of an excellent meeting. A report was given on preparations for ICPS 2012 to be held in Zurich which were well in hand. A bid was presented for ICPS 2014 to be held in Warsaw which was well received, however in the interests of encouraging rotation of the conference between continents it was agreed to try to stimulate a further bid from North America, with a final decision on the location of the conference to be taken by email by the end of 2010.

3. Supporting Other Conferences

QD2010 (Int. Conf. on Quantum Dots, Nottingham 26-30 April, 2010) was sponsored and run successfully with IUPAP support.

Bids for IUPAP support were received from:

EP2DS/MSS (Int. Conf. on Electronic Properties of 2D Systems and Int. Conf. on Modulated Semicond. Struc.) to be held in Tallahassee, 2011.

Optics of excitons in confined systems 12, to be held in Paris 2011.

It was agreed to recommend that both conferences should be recommended for support as category B meetings, with a first preference for the EP2DS/MSS meeting.

4. Commission membership

Two further members were co-opted earlier in the year in order to provide co-ordination with other IUPAP Commissions C5 (Low Temperature Physics, Prof. Paul Leiderer) and C17 (Quantum Electronics, Prof. Michelle Simmons)

New commission formed Oct. 08:

OFFICERS:		Country:	E-Mail:
Chair Vice Chair	K.Von Klitzing P. Hawrylak	Germany Canada	k.klitzing@fkf.mpg.de pawel.hawrylak@nrc-
cnrc.gc.ca Secretary	R. J. Nicholas	UK	r.nicholas@physics.ox.ac.uk

MEMBERS

J. Bloch France jacqueline.bloch@lpn.cnrs.fr E. Calleja Spain jose.calleja@uam.es ensslin@phys.ethz.ch Klaus Ensslin Switzerland D. Gershoni Israel dg@physics.technion.ac.il S. J. Lee Korea leesj@dongguk.edu B. Koiler bk@if.ufrj.br Brazil

Harel Salvador Philippines <u>arnels@nip.upd.edu.ph</u>

L. Samuelson Sweden

lars.samuelson@ftf.lth.se

S. Tarucha

Japan

C. Vandewalle

Houzhi Zheng

Japan

US

Vandewalle@mrl.ucsb.edu

hzzheng@red.semi.ac.cn

Co-Opted Paul Leiderer Germany <u>paul.leiderer@uni-konstanz.de</u>

Michelle Symmons Australia

michelle.simmons@unsw.edu.au

Next meeting:

During EP2DS/MSS meeting Tallahassee 2011.