August 2010

The purpose of the ICA is to promote international development and collaboration in all fields of acoustics including research, development, education, and standardisation.

## http://www.icacommission.org/

## **Board Members**

**President** Samir Gerges samir@emc.ufsc.br

**Vice President** Sonoko Kuwano kuwano@see.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp

Past President Philip Nelson pan@isvr.soton.ac.uk

**Secretary General** Marion Burgess m.burgess@adfa.edu.au

**Treasurer** Hugo Fastl fastl@mmk.ei.tum.de

Canada Michael Stinson
China Chaohuan Hou

France Phillipe Blanc-Benon

Italy Adriano Alippi

Suk Wang Yoon

Korea

Poland Eugeniusz Kozaczka

Russia Alexander Maizel

Spain Antonio Perez Lopez

**Turkey** Zerhan Yuksel Can

USA Charles E. Schmid

EAA Luigi Maffei

FIA Jorge Patricio

ICU Ewald Benes

IIAV J. L. Bento Coelho

I-INCE H. Tachibana

WESPAC Renhe Zhang

## Report from ICA to IUPAP

The ICA board elected at the ICA General Assembly in 2007 continues with the executive comprising Samir Gerges as President, Sonoko Kuwano as Vice President, Hugo Fastl as the Treasurer and Marion Burgess as Secretary General. There will be new election at the 2010 Board and GA in Sydney in August 2010. In the next report we will report the new officers and awards given.

The 2009 board meeting was well attended and the early start allowed for good discussion on many matters important to ICA at this time. In particular there was further consideration of the governance and options for changes to the structure of the board. A proposal for a revision to the board structure has been prepared and sent to the member societies for their comment with a view to modification and voting by the ICA membership at the next General Assembly in Sydney in 2010. The country membership of the ICA has not been increasing while it is clear that the interest in acoustics is expanding. The majority of the larger acoustical societies are members and more work is being made by the President and board to encourage the smaller and less well established acoustics groups in developing countries.

The Board continues with its task of obtaining greater acknowledgement of the role of acoustics with a view to seeking full membership of ICSU. The inclusion of of the following international affiliates has increased the strength of the board: European Acoustics Association (EAA), IberoAmerican Federation of Acoustics (FIA), International Institute of Noise Control Engineering (I-INCE), International Institute Acoustics and Vibration (IIAV), Western Pacific Acoustics (WESPAC) Commission and the International Congress on Ultrasonics (ICU). Board has set up an International Conference Coordination Committee with a view to encouraging improved coordination of these international activities.

The major activity for the ICA is the congress held every 3 years. In 2010 this will be held in Sydney Australia and we look forward to the assistance of IUTAM in promoting this important activity. In the current international economic environment it will be a challenge to ensure that this event is both scientifically

and financially viable.

The ICA has also provided support to the following specialist symposia in 2008 and has offered support to a number of meetings in 2009 and a commitment for 2010. The call for applications for symposia support for 2010 has been sent out and selection will be made by the end of 2009

2008		Euro
Wave and Quantum Acoustics	Wisla, Poland	1000
Acousto-Optics	Sopot, Poland	1000
Acoustic Communication by Animals	Oregon, USA	1000
2009		
ICU 2009 - Ultrasonics	Chile	1000
34 Int Conference Acoustics High Tatras 2009.	Slovakia	500
Pacific Rim Underwater	China	1000
Speech and Computer, SPECOM 2009	Russia	500
Acoustics & Biomed Eng	Poland	1000
Environmental Acoustics and Acoustical Sustainable Buildings	Spain	1000
2010		
Musical Acoustics, ISMA	Australia	

The selection of the prestigious Early Career Award is in progress and will be awarded at the time of the ICA in Sydney in 2010. Also at this congress over 24 ICA Young Scientist Awards will be made.

The ICA acknowledges the ongoing collaboration with IUPAP and the valued contribution from the IUPAP representative at Board Meetings. We look forward to strengthening this link in the future.

The ICA board is keen for the ICA to become a Union within ICSU and looks forward to the support from IUPAP in achieving this goal.

Samir Gerges President 2008- 2010.

Marion Burgess Secretary General 2008-2010