Report of activity of the C3 Commission (since July 2007)

The main activity of the C3 Commission since July 2007 has been i) the organization of the Statphys24 conference ii) the award of the Boltzmann medal, iii) the award of the Young Scientist Prize, iv) the choice of the venue for the Statphys25 conference and v) selection of new members and chairs for the C3 Commission.

Organization of Statphys24

Statphys is the main international conference of the C3 Commission, and is a major meeting point for the international Statistical Physics community. At the last Statphys 23 conference in Genova, the C3 Commission voted that the venue for the coming Statphys 24 conference would be Cairns Australia.

At the previous Genova meeting (July 2007), the C3 Commission named six of its members to serve on the Steering Committee (SC):

H. Orland (Chairman)

A. Bray

M. Telo da Gamma

S. Ruffo

S. Ramaswamy

M. Wadati

The Australian National Organizing Committee, headed by M. Batchelor, J. de Gier, M. Gould, J. Links, and D. Evans, proposed additional SC members to the C3 commission, and after some discussions, 6 more SC members were added to cover all relevant topics:

E. DOMANY

D. EVANS

E. FRADKIN

A.J. GUTTMANN

V. RITTENBERG

F. SCIORTINO

A large International Advisory Committee (IAC) was selected, together by the C3 Commission and by the National Organizing Committee.

The C3 Commission selected a list of eleven conference topics:

- -General aspects of statistical physics
- -Mathematical aspects

- -Nonequilibrium processes
- -Quantum systems
- -Fluids and soft matter
- -Surfaces and Interfacial phenomena
- -Non-linear phenomena
- -Disordered and glassy systems
- -Biological physics
- -Statistical modeling of biological data
- -Interdisciplinary topics in statistical physics

The IAC sent out nominations for plenary and invited talks for Statphys 24. The SC met in Paris on July 3 and 4, 2010, and selected a list of 44 speakers for the conference from those proposed by the IAC.

The Statphys24 conference took place from **July 19-23, 2010**, in Cairns Australia. Among the highlights, there were plenary talks by R. Baxter, C.N. Yang (Nobel laureate), M. Freedman (Fields medalist) and W. Ketterle (Nobel laureate).

There were about 700 participants, and the conference was very successful.

Boltzmann Medal

During its mandate, the C3 Commission is responsible for awarding the Boltzmann Medal. The Boltzmann medal is the most prestigious international prize in statistical physics. The jury consists of all the members of the C3 Commission, as well as the previous Boltzmann medalists. After the usual three rounds of votes, the Boltzmann medal was jointly awarded to John Cardy (Oxford University) and Bernard Derrida (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris). The formal ceremony of the Boltzmann medal took place during the Statphys24 conference.

Young Scientists Prize

During its mandate, the C3 Commission is also responsible for awarding the Young Scientist Prize. The jury consists uniquely of the C3 Commission members. There were eight outstanding nominees, and after the three usual rounds of vote, the Young Scientist Prize was awarded to Davide Marenduzzo (University of Edinburgh). The formal ceremony of the Boltzmann medal took place during the Statphys24 conference.

Venue of Statphys25

The Statphys meeting presents a rare opportunity to organize a full meeting of the C3 Commission. During this meeting of the C3 Commission, we auditioned three proposals for the organization of the next conference Statphys25, which will take place in July 2013. The presentations were made by Seoul, Barcelona and Taipei. After these auditions, it was decided that the next Statphys25 conference would be organized in Seoul, at the Seoul National University.

The organizing committee consists of

Doochul Kim (Seoul National University, Chair) Hyunggyu Park (KIAS, Vice-Chair) Moo Young Choi (Seoul National University, Vice-Chair) Swan Kim (POSTECH, Vice-Chair) Youngah Park (Myongji University & National Assembly) Byungnam Kahng (Seoul National University, Secretary)

The C3 Commission has appointed five of its members to be in the Steering Committee, namely Stefano Ruffo (Chair), Lu Yu, Hans-Werner Diehl, Itamar Procaccia and Hans Hermann.

New members and executive committee of the C3 Commission

The meeting of the C3 Commission at Statphys 24 is also the opportunity to choose the new members, which will replace the departing members in 2011, and choose a new Chair, vice-Chair and secretary.

The final list of recommendations for the C3 Commission to be conveyed to IUPAP consists of:

Stefano Ruffo (Italy) Chairman
Lu Yu (China) Vice-Chairman
Hans-Werner Diehl (Germany) Secretary
Francisco Alcaraz (Brazil)

Henk van Beijeren (the Netherlands)
Alan Bray (United Kingdom)
Jean-Francois Joanny (France)
Hans Herrmann (Switzerland)
Rahul Pandit (India) Itamar Procaccia (Israel)
Maxi San Miguel (Spain)
Masaki Sano (Japan)
Beate Schmittmann (USA)
Paul Woafo (Cameroon)