C12 Report to the IUPAP Council and Commission Chairs 2011

C12: Commission on Nuclear Physics (Dan-Olof Riska)

The annual meeting of C12 was held in Cambridge on 25 July 2011 at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The meeting followed the annual meeting of the IUPAP Working group 9 on International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics.

At the meeting the Commission selected a full slate of members and officers for C12 for the period 2012-2014, which consisted of continuing members and new members that had been proposed by the National liaison committees.

The commission also reaffirmed its candidates for the renewal of the IUPAC-IUPAP Joint working group on evaluation and adjudication of super-heavy elements. The proposed candidates have been communicated to the chief Secretary General of IUPAC, David Black, by IUPAP President-designate Cecilia Jarlskog. As IUPAC has responded with counter-proposals that do not take into account the C12 recommendation, the suggestion is that the C&CC meeting should endorse the position of IUPAP President Sukaketsu Ushioda, that the IUPAP members of the joint working group be selected from the experts proposed by IUPAP/C12.