

C9 Commission on Magnetism - Report May 2022

Officers 2021

Chair:	Kai Liu, U.S.A. (2014) (2017) (2021)
Vice Chair:	Elisabetta Agostinelli, Italy (2017) (2021)
Secretary:	Shinji Yuasa, Japan (2021)

Members 2021-2024

Jianhua Zhao, China (2017) (2021) Oksana Zaharko, Switzerland (2017) (2021) Nikolay Mushnikov, Russia (2017) (2021) Robert Stamps, Canada (2021) Olivier Fruchart, France (2021) Michael Farle, Germany (2021) Anil Prabhakar, India (2021) Jozef Spalek, Poland (2021) Maria Luisa Fernandez-Gubieda Ruiz, Spain (2021) Najeh Thabet Mliki, Tunisia (2021) Liam O'Brien, UK (2021)

Meetings

2021-2022

Due to the pandemic, both the main conference, the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM) in Shanghai and the meeting of the C9 Commission on Magnetism had to be postponed to 2022. Later it turned out, that ICM2022 also has to be cancelled (see below at "Conferences"). An email-meeting was held in the period July 24 to August 7, 2021 to organize the shift. The unanimous decisions was: The next meeting of the C9 Commission on Magnetism will be held during the satellite conference "International Colloquium on Magnetic Films and Surfaces (IC-MFS)", planned to take place July 10-15, 2022 in Okinawa/Japan in hybrid format.

Conferences

The next planned main event sponsored by C9 is the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM) in Shanghai. It was originally scheduled for July 4-9, 2021. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and with C9's approval, it was initially postponed to a year later, i.e., July 3-8, 2022. Due to the still ongoing pandemic, the organizers did not feel able to organize an on-site conference or to provide the infrastructure for an online conference. Therefore, the C9 Commission decided through an email discussion and vote that ICM 2022 would be cancelled. The reason was that i) we cannot plan an on-site conference at this time due to the uncertainties surrounding the pandemic, and ii) it will not be possible to hold a hybrid conference format in China. The next ICM will be held in Bologna/Italy in 2024.

Always associated with the ICM is the satellite conference "International Colloquium on Magnetic Films and Surfaces (ICMFS)". This conference, planned in Okinawa, Japan, will now be moved to the time period July 10-15, 2022. It will be held in a hybrid format.

Due to the given exceptional circumstances, the C9 Commission has decided to move several major ICM events to ICMFS. They include:

- the Awards ceremony session;
- the two plenary lectures at the award ceremony (winners of the 2021 Magnetism Award and Néel Medal, i.e. Agnès Barthélémy and Nicola Spaldin);
- the four invited lectures by recipients of the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in the Field of Magnetism: Julia Mundy (2019), Jiadong Zang (2020), Can Onur Avci (2021), and the 2022 Early Career Scientist Prize in Magnetism recipient, Chunhui Du;
- the Awards ceremony dinner;
- the meeting of the C9 Commission.

Conference Sponsorships

The C9 Commission has supported the proposal for the conference "Trends in Magnetism", Céfalu, Italy, originally scheduled for September 7-11, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this conference took place during September 6-10, 2021 in a hybrid format.

Magnetism Awards

The **IUPAP Early Career Scientist Prize in the field of Magnetism** is awarded every year to a young scientist for theoretical or experimental work in fields of fundamental or applied magnetism. This award was initially established in 2006 to separately recognize theoretical/computational work and experimental work in magnetism, and awarded every three years at the International Conference on Magnetism (ICM). In 2016 it was converted to an annual competition to recognize a single winner for either theoretical or experimental work in magnetism. In 2021 the IUPAP renamed the Young Scientist Prizes across all commissions to Early Career Scientist Prizes, as the prizes are intended for "young" scientists in terms of their career stage.

The award committee consists of members of the IUPAP Commission on Magnetism, together with past recipients of the Magnetism Award and Néel Medal. All members of the magnetism community were invited to make nominations.

Recipient of the 2022 Award is:

Dr. Chunhui Du, University of California – San Diego (UCSD)

"For fundamental contributions to the understanding, detection and control of spin dynamics and spin currents in magnetic oxides".

The award ceremony will take place at the next "International Colloquium on Magnetic Films and Surfaces (ICMFS)" in Okinawa, Japan, July 10-15, 2022.

All awards are listed on the Commission's website:

https://iupap.org/who-we-are/internal-organization/commissions/c9-magnetism/c9-awards/