C11: News

C11: News


C11 Young Scientist Prize 2016

The 2016 IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes for C11: Particles and Fields are:
Stefan Hoeche
“For developing high precision Monte Carlo simulations of events at hadronic colliders”

Stefan Hoeche at SLAC


Stefan Hoeche received his Diplom in 2004 from the Dresden University of Technology, and his Ph.D. in 2008 from Durham University.  After a postdoctoral appointment at the University of Zurich, he moved to SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory where he is now a Staff Scientist.  His professional career has been devoted to providing more accurate simulations of the complex scattering events that take place when two high energy hadrons collide, such as at the Large Hadron Collider.  Such simulations are essential to experimentalists for precision measurements of Higgs boson couplings as well as in the search for new physics.  He has produced simulations that are accurate to next-to-next-to-leading order  in the strong coupling constant for benchmark processes such as Higgs production and W and Z boson production.  He has also shown how to construct simulations that are accurate to next-to-leading order, even for events with additional jets within the same sample. He recently developed a novel parton shower formalism which has significantly improved behavior compared with previous ones.  His work sets the standards for the precision calculations and simulation tools used at the LHC today.


 Liangjian Wen
“For his original contributions to the physics of neutrinos, and in particular, to the discovery of the non-zero neutrino mixing angle q13

  • Liangjian Wen

Dr. Liangjian Wen is an Associate Research Fellow at the Institute of High Energy Physics (IHEP), Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing. He graduated from the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) in 2005, and received his Ph.D. from IHEP in 2010.  He has worked on the measurement of θ13 at Daya Bay experiment, on the search of neutrino-less double beta decays (0nbb) with EXO-200/nEXO, and on the determination of the neutrino mass hierarchy (MH) with JUNO.

Dr. Liangjian Wen made major contributions to the discovery of non-zero θ13 at the Daya Bay reactor neutrino experiment, spanning from the design, construction and commissioning of the detector to the software and data analysis. In particular, he developed a new energy calibration scheme, an energy response model, and novel methods to reject backgrounds and determine systematics, which led to the rapid and precise measurement of θ13 .


The Commission on Particles and Fields (C11) of IUPAP solicits nominations of outstanding young experimental or theoretical particle physicists for the two 2016 Young Scientists Prizes.

The prizes, each consisting of an IUPAP medal and a cash (€1000) award, will be presented at the 38th International Conference on High Energy Physics, Chicago, USA on August 3 – 10, 2016.

Candidates for the prize should have a maximum of 8 years of research experience (excluding career interruptions) following the PhD. Previous award recipients will not be eligible for the award.

Nominations for the IUPAP Particles and Fields Young Scientist Prize:

  • can be made by experimental or theoretical particle physicists who know the work of the nominee well and
  • should consist of a minimum of two letters explaining the nominee’s qualifications and scientific achievements, a complete CV and a list of publications.

Formal application should be submitted using this link: https://indico.cern.ch/event/461951/

All material should be submitted before February 15, 2016.

Juan Fuster (chair) and Heidi Schellman (vice-chair) of IUPAP-C11

C11 Young Scientist Prize 2014

The 2014 IUPAP Young Scientist Prizes for C11: Particles and Fields were awarded during the 37th International Conference on High Energy Physics held from 2-9 July 2014, in Valencia, Spain, to:

  • Claude Duhr [University of Durham, UK],”For his outstanding contributions to elementary particle theory, in particular, to formal developments in quantum field theory and their applications to precision calculations in collider phenomenology.”, and
  • Kerstin Tackmann [DESY],”For her outstanding contributions to experimental high energy physics, in particular, to the discovery of the Higgs via its gamma gamma decay mode with the ATLAS experiment.”