C16: News

C16: News

Young Scientist Award for the Commission on Plasma Physics (C16) for the year 2016 was awarded to:

SamSam Vinko M.Vinko 


Sam Vinko received his Master’s degree from the University of Rome Tor Vergata (Italy) in 2007, and his doctorate from the University of Oxford (UK) in 2011 working with Prof. Justin Wark, investigating the interaction of intense XUV light with solid-density matter on the FLASH free-electron laser (FEL) in Hamburg (Germany). He was awarded the Culham thesis prize from the UK Institute of Physics for this work in 2012. As a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Oxford he worked extensively on the Linac Coherent Light Source FEL in Stanford (USA), showing how intense X-rays could be used to create and study plasmas at temperatures and densities similar to those found half-way towards the centre of the Sun, with exquisite precision and control. Dr. Vinko was awarded a Royal Society University Research Fellowship in 2014 and now leads a research group at the University of Oxford focused on investigating matter in extreme conditions using X-ray FEL sources. He shared the 2015 Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research, awarded by the American Physical Society for outstanding achievement in plasma physics.

His Citation reads : ‘In recognition of his seminal contributions in using the world’s first hard x-ray free electron laser to create and diagnose solid density plasmas, and for new insights into the electronic structure and collisional dynamics of such systems.’


The IUPAP Plasma Physics C16 Young Scientist Prize recognizes exceptional achievement in the study of plasma physics by scientists at a relatively early stage of their career.

The recipient must be no more than eight years post PhD (excluding career interruptions) by the deadline of the competition, and is expected to have displayed significant achievement and exceptional promise for future achievement in the area of plasma physics.

The Prize will consist of 1,000 Euro and a Medal and Certificate. The Prize will be presented at the 2016 International Congress on Plasma Physics (ICPP), in Taiwan 26th June-1st July 2016.

Nominations should include reasons for nomination, a short citation and CV including all publications with citation number for journal papers, three representative papers, three to five reference letters, combined into one single consolidated pdf file, and   send as an email attachment to Prof. Lin-Ni Hau, Chair of IUPAP C16, National Central University, Taiwan.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 31th January 2016.

Self nominations will not be considered.



Young Scientist Award for the Commission on Plasma Physics (C16) for the year 2015 was awarded to:

Livia Lancia
For experimental contributions to our understanding of laser-matter interaction phenomena, including Brillouin amplification of laser beams and magnetic fields self-generation in plasmas.

Christian Theiler
For the award for pioneering work on the physics of the edge of magnetically confined plasmas and its influence on fusion performance and on the interaction between the plasma and the surrounding material walls. 

ITER is the large-scale international scientific experiment that aims to demonstrate the scientific and industrial feasibility of fusion energy for peaceful purposes. MIIFED-IBF 2016 will bring together testimonies and experiences from the world industry about their participation in ITER. This international conference offers an excellent opportunity for exchanging views and experiences and forming valuable international business relationships.