C17: News

C17: News

Nominations for IUPAP Commission 17: Laser Physics and Photonics Young Scientist Prizes – Deadline: 4 February 2019

The IUPAP Commission 17 – Laser Physics and Photonics – is seeking nominations for its biennial Young Scientist Prizes. Two prizes are available for award. One prize is for outstanding contributions of a fundamental nature. The other is for outstanding contributions of an applied nature. Both prize winners will have demonstrated significant achievement, and exceptional promise for future achievement in the areas of laser physics and/or photonics. The recipients must be no more than eight years from the date of completion of their PhD (excluding career interruptions) by the deadline for nominations. They must have a PhD.

Nomination Requirements and Deadline for Submission:

Nomination for the Prize must be by a senior member of the research community, with one or two additional letters of endorsement by supporters. The deadline for submissions of nominations is the 4 February 2019. A complete nomination packet submitted by a senior nominator will consist of:

  • A cover letter by the nominator (please indicate clearly whether the nomination is for the prize for fundamental or applied aspects);
  • A citation for the Prize (30 words or less referring to the nominee by gender, or please make a note that non-gender is the preference of the nominee);
  • One or two additional letters of endorsement for the nomination, one of which must be from a senior scientist who was not a former supervisor of the nominee at either the graduate or postdoctoral level and who is not a close collaborator of the nominator;
  • A one-page statement by the nominee explaining the achievements and the overall significance of the work;
  • Up to three salient publications co-authored by the nominee;
  • An up-to-date, one-page CV of the nominee, including the PhD completion date;
  • A list of key publications, patents, etc.

Nomination packages must be in the form of a single consolidated PDF file or a ZIP archive.

Please send all material via email to the IUPAP-C17-YS Prize Committee Chair, Professor Tsuneyuki Ozaki, by the deadline of the 4 February 2019.

The Prize: Each Prize will consist of 1,000 Euro, a Medal, and a Certificate.

Prize Selection: The prize selection committee will consist of C17 commission members. The Prize winners will be announced on the IUPAP website.

Prize Presentation: The IUPAP C17 Young Scientist Prizes will be awarded at the CLEO/Europe-EQEC 2019 conference (http://www.cleoeurope.org/), to be held in Munich, Germany, 23 – 27 June 2019.

For information: the deadline for submission of abstracts to CLEO/Europe-EQEC 2019 is the 22 January 2019.

IUPAP welcomes applications from outstanding women and other underrepresented groups.

For printable version of the above nomination details, please click here.

The Young Scientist Award for the Commission on Laser Physics and Photonics (C17) for the year 2017 were awarded to:

A/Prof Igor Aharonovich
‘Applied Aspects’

The 2017 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Laser Physics and Photonics (Applied Aspects) has been won by A/Prof Igor Aharonovich “for his outstanding contributions to research on quantum emitters in wide band-gap semiconductors”.
A/Prof Aharonovich is currently an academic at the University of Technology (UTS) Sydney, Australia where he leads the Nanophotonics research group. Previously he was a postdoctoral fellow at Harvard University, Boston, United States; following a PhD (2010) at University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia; and a BSc (2005) & MSc (2007) from Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Israel.

Dr Mohsen Rahmani
‘Fundamental Aspects’

The 2017 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Laser Physics and Photonics (Fundamental Aspects) has been won by Dr Mohsen Rahmani “for his outstanding contributions to light-matter interactions at nanoscale, particularly nonlinear nanophotonics via metallic, dielectric and semiconductor nanostructures and metasurfaces, which have paved the road for extending nonlinear optics to nanoscale”.

Dr Rahmani is currently an Australian Research Council Discovery Early Career Research Award holder at the Australian National University, Canberra Australia. Until recently he was a research associate at the Blackett Laboratory, Imperial College London, United Kingdom; following a PhD from the National University of Singapore, Singapore (2013).

The Young Scientist Award for the Commission on Laser Physics and Photonics (C17) for the year 2015 were awarded to:

Dr Mark Thompson
“Applied Aspects”

Mark Thompson Applied PrizeThe IUPAP C17 Laser Physics and Photonics “Applied Aspects” Young Scientist Prize, has been awarded to Dr Mark Thompson, Centre for Quantum Photonics, University of Bristol, United Kingdom.  Dr Mark Thompson is awarded the prize “for his contributions to the new and emerging field of quantum photonics, and particularly for his pioneering work in integrated quantum photonic circuits.”

Brief Biography

Mark Thompson did his Master of Physics at the University of Sheffield, United Kingdom, finishing in 2000. He completed his PhD in 2007 at the University of Cambridge, UK, in the Department of Electrical Engineering. Subsequently he has held postdoctoral fellow positions at the University of Cambridge, University of Bristol, UK; and Toshiba, Japan.  He was appointed as a lecturer in the School of Physics, University of Bristol, UK, in 2010 and is now a Reader in Quantum Photonics and Director of the Quantum Engineering Centre for Doctoral Training. He has published 36 journal articles up to 2014 and has more than 1900 citations. He has 7 patents, has given numerous invited talks.

Dr Robert Fickler
“Fundamental Aspects”

Robert Fickler Fundamental2The IUPAP C17 Laser Physics and Photonics “Fundamental Aspects” Young Scientist Prize is awarded to Dr Robert Fickler, Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, University of Vienna, Austria.  Dr Fickler is awarded the prize “for his ground breaking contributions to the entanglement of complex structures of photons, which have opened up new avenues for quantum communication”.

Brief Biography

Robert Fickler completed his Bachelor and Masters degrees (in Physics) at the University of Ulm, Germany, finishing in 2009. He completed his PhD in 2014 at the University of Vienna in the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information. His thesis, entitled “Entanglement of Complex Structures of Photons”, received a Doc.Award. He is now working as a postdoctoral fellow, continuing in the group of Professor Anton Zeilinger in Vienna. He has published 14 papers up to 2014. The 2012 Science paper “Quantum entanglement of high angular momenta” was identified as one of the top 10 breakthroughs in Physics of that year by Physics World magazine.