C18: News

C18: News

Call for nominations for the IUPAP Young Scientist Award in Mathematical Physics 2018
– Deadline August 31, 2017

The IUPAP Mathematical Physics C18 prize (http://www.iupap.org) recognizes exceptional achievements in mathematical physics by scientists at relatively early stages of their careers. It is awarded triennially to at most three young scientists satisfying the following criteria:

  • The recipients of the awards in a given year should have a maximum of 8 years of research experience (excluding career interruptions) following their PhD on January 1 of that year, in the present case 2018.
  • The recipients should have performed original work of outstanding scientific quality in mathematical physics.
  • Preference may be given to young mathematical physicists from developing countries. The awards will be presented at the ICMP in July 2018 in Montreal.

Please submit your nomination to Manfred SalmhoferRainer Dick and Patrick Dorey as officers of IUPAP C18 Commission on Mathematical Physics.

Deadline for Nominations is August 31, 2017


Young Scientist Award (2015 – 2017) 

The three IUPAP Young Scientist Awards for the Commission on Mathematical Physics (C18) for the period 2015-2017 were awarded on July 27, 2015, at the opening ceremony of the International Congress on Mathematical Physics, Santiago de Chile, to Roland Bauerschmidt, Joseph Ben Geloun, and Nicolas Rougerie.

Bauerschmidt   Roland Bauerschmidt

Roland Bauerschmidt has been awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Mathematical Physics 2015-2017 for his work on self-avoiding random walks in 4 dimensions and the development of supersymmetric renormalization group techniques for their study.

Born in Hannover, Germany, Roland Bauerschmidt studied in Bonn, Germany, and Zurich, Switzerland, and received his B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Physics from ETH Zurich.  His Ph.D. in Mathematics (2013) is from the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada. He spent the year 2013-2014 at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, before moving to Harvard University, where he is currently a Postdoctoral Researcher.  In 2016, he will return to the University of British Columbia as Assistant Professor of Mathematics.

Bauerschmidt has mastered, developed and extended a renormalization group program initiated by David Brydges and Gordon Slade, and made important contributions to this area.  In a strikingly original paper, he provided a simple new way to understand the finite range decompositions of Gaussian fields that underpin the renormalization group approach.

His work on the structural stability of non-hyperbolic dynamical systems is an essential ingredient in the application of the renormalization group method.

Bauerschmidt’s work sheds new light on fundamental aspects of statistical physics, such as the behaviour of the self-avoiding random walk in four dimensions, quantum friction, and random matrix theory.


BenGeloun    Joseph Ben Geloun

Joseph Ben Geloun has been awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Mathematical Physics 2015-2017 for his pioneering work on the renormalization of tensor field theories and his discovery of their generic asymptotic freedom.

Joseph Ben Geloun was born 1976 in St. Louis, Sénégal. After graduating from Cheikh Anta Diop University in Dakar, Sénégal, he received his PhD in 2007 from Université Nationale du Bénin.

After visitor’s and postdoctoral positions at Université Paris-Sud, France, and University of Stellenbosch, South Africa, he held a post-doctoral position at the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, Waterloo, Canada, from 2010 to 2013.

After his PhD, Ben Geloun entered research on quantum gravity. In just a few years he became a major expert in the field. His most striking results concern a new class of non-local renormalizable quantum field theories, called tensor field theories, whose perturbative expansion sums over random geometries weighted by a discretized Einstein-Hilbert action. In his classification of these models, he discovered an unexpected property, namely their generic ultraviolet asymptotic freedom.

He has also started to direct the research work of younger scientists such as Dine Ousmane Samary and Remy Avohou. Now a Humboldt Fellow at the Albert Einstein Institute in Golm, Germany, Ben Geloun is becoming a role model for the next generation of young African scientists.


Rougerie   Nicolas Rougerie

Nicolas Rougerie has been awarded the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Mathematical Physics 2015-2017 for his exceptional contributions to the theory of cold quantum gases, in particular the proof of the appearance of a giant vortex and vortex circles in rapidly rotating Bose gases.

Nicolas Rougerie was born in 1985 in Versailles, France, and received his PhD in Mathematics from Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, in 2010. He subsequently became a postdoctoral associate at Université de Cergy-Pontoise. In 2011 he was awarded a permanent CNRS researcher position in mathematics, at Laboratoire de Physique et Modélisation des Milieux Condensés, Grenoble (the only CNRS position in mathematical physics awarded in all of France in that year).

Already the PhD thesis of Nicolas contains seminal results on giant vortices and vortex circles, and he published two important papers on these topics in 2011. This work was pushed further in a series of papers together with Michele Correggi, Florian Pinsker and Jakob Yngvason, which appeared 2011-2013.  Further important contributions concern the quantum Hall regime  of rapidly rotating Bose gases (joint with Sylvia Serfaty and Jakob Yngvason), a new approach to the mean-field limit in quantum many-body physics, based on a quantum version of de Finetti’s theorem (joint with Mathieu Lewin and Phan-Tanh Nam). He has furthermore published work on polarons in quantum crystals, on higher dimensional Coulomb gases and on the average field approximation for extended anyons.