CALL FOR NOMINATIONS – DEADLINE 15 June 2017 – IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Astrophysics (C19) 2017

The IUPAP Young Scientist Medals of 2016 and 2017 and Awards of 1,000 EUR will be awarded for two scientists working in the field of astrophysics. The winners will be invited to give a presentation of scientific achievements at the 28th Texas Symposium on Relativistic Astrophysics (December 3-8, 2017 in Cape Town, South Africa).

The nominated candidate must not have completed more than eight years of research after their doctorate by December 2016 and 2017, respectively. Interruptions for military service, family emergencies, etc., (but not teaching) are allowed. One Medal cannot be shared between several candidates.

Nominations may be made by anyone with an interest in the field. Self-nominations are not permitted, but a candidate could ask a mentor or colleague to provide a nomination.

The nomination papers must include:
– A citation of approximately 50 words.
– Curriculum vitae of the candidate, which must not exceed two pages in length.
– List of 6 of the candidate’s most significant publications, including citation information, not to exceed one page.
– Commentary on the publications, which makes the case for the award, not to exceed two pages.
– Two letters of support (up to a maximum of three pages), at least one of which must come from someone not at the nominee’s institution and not a mentor or significant collaborator.

The documents must be collated into a single pdf file called Surname_ysm.pdf, where Surname is the candidate’s name. The file must not exceed 2MB in size.

Nominations not conforming to these rules cannot be accepted.

The Medal winners will be selected by a committee composed of the members of the IUPAP Astrophysics Committee (C19).

Nominations should be sent on or before 15 June 2017 to the Chair of IUPAP C19 Grazina Tautvaisiene by e-mail.


2015 Young Scientist Prize

The 2015 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Astrophysics was awarded to Sylvain Guiriec for his “insightful and innovative contributions towards understanding the nature of Gamma Ray Burst (GRB) prompt emission, in particular the establishment of multi-component spectra, and the discovery of a new Peak Energy – Luminosity relation showing that GRBs can be used as standard candles and thereby as unique cosmological probes.”

Sylvain GuSylvain Guirieciriec was born in 1978 in Brest, France. In 2002 – 2003, he obtained a Masters degree in Material Sciences as well as an Engineering degree in Atomic and Molecular modeling and simulation, and computational structural analysis and design from the Institut Superieur des Materiaux du Mans, France. He worked for two years as a young researcher at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA, and at the Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain, where he studied radiation damage for the nuclear research field. In 2004, he obtained a Masters degree in Astrophysics, Planetology and Space Sciences & Techniques and an Engineering degree in Space Sciences & Techniques from Paul Sabatier University and the Institut Superieur de l’Aeronautique et de l’Espace (SUPAERO), France. He received his PhD in December 2007 in Astrophysics from the Montpellier II University, France. His thesis was both theoretical and instrumental: (i) he studied the theoretical aspects of GRBs and made predictions of observability with the Fermi Gamma-ray Space Telescope (Fermi), and (ii) he participated to the integration and tests of the Fermi/Large Area Telescope (LAT), for which he developed an algorithm for suppressing its proton background.

After the launch of Fermi mid-2008, Sylvain Guiriec joined the National Space Science and Technology Center, USA – associated to the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center – with a 3-year postdoctoral position at the University of Alabama in Huntsville, USA. His main efforts focused on the observational analysis of GRBs, leading to the discovery of the first clear evidence for photospheric emission in their prompt emission. He also worked on Magnetars, Solar Flares and Terrestrial Gamma-ray Flashes. Since 2011 Sylvain Guiriec worked at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA, first as a fellow of the NASA Postdoctoral Program and then as an Assistant Research Scientist affiliated with the University of Maryland, College Park and the Center for Research and Exploration in Space Science & Technology.

2014 Young Scientist Prize

The 2014 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Astrophysics was awarded to Nanda Rea for her “her valuable contribution to the study of neutron stars. In particular for the discovery that magnetars can have low dipolar magnetic fields in line with the normal pulsar population, at variance with the long-standing belief that the electron critical magnetic field was a lower limit for magnetar-activity to take place.”

Nanda ReaNanda Rea was born in 1978 in Rome, Italy. She graduated from the University of Tor Vergata/INAF- Astronomical Observatory of Rome in 2006. Since then she spent several years with different post-doctoral fellowships (at SRON and The University of Amsterdam). In 2009 she started a 5 year tenure-track at the Institute for Space Sciences (ICE) in Barcelona, part of the CSIC (the Spanish National Research Council). In 2014 she was awarded an NWO Vidi grant to build a research group in The Netherlands. She is currently a tenured staff scientist at CSIC, and a research group leader at the Anton Pannekoek Institute of the University of Amsterdam.

Since her PhD years, Nanda Rea has worked on several aspects of neutron stars, both observationally and on the interpretation side. She was invited for colloquia and seminars in many worldwide institutes (Harvard, NYU, Max Plank, University of Sydney, ATNF, IAC, and others). In 2014 she was awarded the Zeldovich Medal for Astrophysics and Space Science from COSPAR and the Russian Academy of Science, for her crucial contribution to the understanding of neutron stars with strong magnetic fields.