C5: News

C5: News

OLLI V. LOUNASMAA MEMORIAL PRIZE 2016 awarded to Prof Michel Devoret

The Olli V. Lounasmaa Memorial Prize 2016 was awarded to Professor Michel Devoret from the Yale University (New Haven, USA), for his pioneering investigations and applications of macroscopic quantum phenomena at low temperatures. The prize was announced on August 16th 2016 at the international Quantum Fluids and Solids conference QFS2016 in Praque, Czech Republic.

Michel DevoretProf. Devoret was elected for the Prize by a Selection Committee consisting of Dr. Rob Blaauwgeers (founder and managing director of BlueFors Cryogenics Oy), Professors John Clarke (University of California, Berkeley, USA), Andrew Cleland (University of Chicago, USA), Vladimir Dmitriev (Kapitza Institute for Physical Problems, Moscow, Russia), Pertti Hakonen (chair, Aalto University), Kimitoshi Kono (RIKEN, Japan), Jukka Pekola (Aalto University), George Pickett (Lancaster University, UK), and Tuija Pulkkinen (vice rector of Aalto University).

Michel H. Devoret was born in France. He graduated from Ecole Nationale Superieure des Telecommunications in Paris in 1975, and received his PhD from Paris University in 1982. For more than four decades he has pioneered the discovery, understanding and application of quantum phenomena revealed in the low temperature regime. His contributions to the field of quantum electronics have set the stage for major advances in our knowledge of, and control over macroscopic quantum devices and systems. His scientific and technological foundations in superconducting circuits hold great potential to emerge as a dominant technology for quantum computation.

Prof. Devoret is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2003) and a member of the French Academy of Sciences (2008). He has received the Ampere Prize of the French Academy of Science (together with Daniel Esteve, 1991), the Descartes-Huygens Prize of the Royal Academy of Science of the Netherlands (1996) and the Europhysics-Agilent Prize of the European Physical Society (together with Daniel Esteve, Hans Mooij and Yasunobu Nakamura, 2004). He is also a recipient of the John Stewart Bell Prize, which he received jointly with Rob Schoelkopf in 2013. In 2014, he has been awarded, together with John Martinis and Rob Schoelkopf, the Fritz London Memorial Prize.

The Olli V. Lounasmaa Prize Fund owes to the generosity of Kiti M├╝ller and the members of Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters for the endowment of the revenues obtained upon publishing the Memoirs of Olli V. Lounasmaa.

Read more from the attached release.

About the Prize: http://physics.aalto.fi/en/about/olli_v-lounasmaa_memorial_prize/

Aalto PHYS news: http://physics.aalto.fi/en/current/news/2016-08-16-003/

OLLI V. LOUNASMAA MEMORIAL PRIZE 2016 – Nominations due 15 March 2016!

Nominations are sought for the Olli V. Lounasmaa Memorial Prize for Low Temperature Physics and its Applications. This international prize is awarded once every four years and it is intended to recognize outstanding contributions to low temperature physics and related fields. The Prize, founded in 2004, is a tribute to the founder of strong Finnish research tradition both in low temperature physics and neuroscience.

Background information and previous Olli V. Lounasmaa Memorial Prize winners can be found at http://physics.aalto.fi/en/about/olli_v-lounasmaa_memorial_prize/

The members of the 2016 Olli V. Lounasmaa Memorial Prize committee are R. Blaauwgeers (BlueFors), J. Clarke (Berkeley), A. Cleland (Chicago), V. Dmitriev (Moscow), P. Hakonen (Aalto Univ.), K. Kono (RIKEN), J. Pekola (Aalto Univ.), G. Pickett (Lancaster) and T. Pulkkinen (Aalto Univ.).

Nominations and supporting letters should be sent (preferably electronically in .pdf format) to the Chair of the Prize Committee:

Prof. Pertti Hakonen

Attention: Olli V Lounasmaa Memorial Prize
Aalto University School of Science
Low Temperature Laboratory
Puumiehenkuja 2 B, Espoo,
P.O. Box 15100, FI-00076 AALTO,

E-mail: pertti.hakonen@aalto.fi,

The deadline for the receipt of nominations and supporting letters is March 15, 2016.

A letter of nomination should include all of the following:

– The basis for the proposed prize.
– Citations to publications on which the nomination is based.
– An assessment of the impact to the low temperature community.
– Relevant biographical information, and current institutional affiliation.

Letters (no more than 4) from knowledgeable colleagues supporting the nomination are welcome and should be submitted along with the nomination material.