C6: News

C6: News

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Biological Physics (C6) 2017


Dr. Jiajie Diao, University of Cincinnati, USA

“For his significant contributions to the area of single-molecule biophysics. He pioneered the development of single vesicle fusion assays based on FRET, which enables addressing many fundamental questions about biological systems involving membranes.”

After finishing his undergraduate studies of Physics with the Master Degree from George Washington University in May 2005, Dr. Jiajie Diao moved to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. There, he started his PhD in Physics under the guidance of Professor Taekjip Ha and studied membrane fusion through single-particle biophysical fluorescent techniques. After completing his five years PhD study in December 2010, he joined the lab of Professor Axel T. Brunger, first as postdoctoral research associate and later as research specialist at Stanford University & HHMI where he further improved his outstanding publication record with more articles on his membrane fusion research in high-ranking journals.  Since the end of 2015, Dr. Diao started to establish his own biophysical lab at the University of Cincinnati, College of Medicine where he is leading several projects that are aimed at understanding the fundamental principles of neurotransmitter release and the effect of neurodegeneration on this process.




Dr. Siyuan Steven Wang, Harvard University, USA

“For his significant contributions to the development of novel methods for imaging the spatial organization of chromatin and to advancing the understanding of chromosome organization using these methods and for his significant contributions to bacterial cytoskeleton and cell wall research.”

Dr. Siyuan Steven Wang did his PhD work 2008-2011 in Molecular Biology at Princeton University under the supervision of Professor Ned Wingreen and Professor Joshua Shaevitz where he studied the mechanics, dynamics and organization of the bacterial cytoskeleton and the cell wall. His PhD thesis was honored with the Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Biological Physics by the American Physical Society. In advance of his PhD period, he completed his undergraduate studies in Physics at Peking University under the supervision of Professor Qi Ouyang in 2007 with highest honors. In 2011, Dr. Wang moved to Prof. Xiaowei Zhuang’s lab at Harvard University to study chromosome structures in eukaryotic cells. He developed a ground breaking imaging technology for tracing chromatin in individual chromosomes circumventing the image resolution problem and enabling 3D tracing of chromosomes. The application of this novel method in chromosome conformation and other studies lead to several publications in high-impact journals in addition to this technology breakthrough.





Prof. Dr. Hyun Youk, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands

“For his elegant demonstration of how statistical physics, dynamical systems theory and experiments can be combined to address fundamental questions in cell biology, and his recent work that shows how cell-cell communication can shape the spatio-temporal dynamics of living cells.”

After his undergraduate studies in Physics and Mathematics from 2000-2004 at the Victoria College in Toronto, Canada, Hyun Youk moved to Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore to continue his studies in Astronomy and Physics from 2004-2006. In the following years, he did his PhD in Physics and Systems Biology under the guidance of Professor Alexander van Oudenaarden investigating glucose sensing and import in yeast cells at the MIT in Cambridge before he went in 2011 as postdoctoral fellow to the laboratory of Wendell Lim at the University of California in San Francisco where he studied autocrine signaling, one of the three major forms of cell-cell communication. In January 2015, Hyun Youk moved to Europe with a European Research Council (ERC) Starting Grant, and is since then establishing his own research lab as assistant professor of Physics and Quantitative Biology at the Kavli Institute of Nanoscience, TU Delft, in the Netherlands, where he continues with developing his ideas based on statistical physics and dynamical systems and experimentally demonstrating them in cells. A hallmark of Professor Youk’s work is that he selects important and highly complex biological problems that he then systematically deconstructs to extract fundamental design principles that underlie living systems, which are based on physical principles.


ICBP 2017



IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Biological Physics (C6) 2017

The IUPAP C6 Young Scientist Prize recognizes exceptional achievements of scientists in the field of Biological Physics at a relatively junior stage of their career. The recipient must be no more than eight years post PhD (excluding career interruptions) by the deadline of the competition, is expected to have demonstrated significant scientific achievements and displays exceptional promise for future achievements in Biological Physics. Three winners would be considered for the prize of 2017 (one prize per year 2015–2017) which will be collectively presented at the three annual international conference in Rio de Janeiro.

The Prize: The individual prize will consist of 1,000 EUR award money, a medal, and a certificate. One prize cannot be shared between several candidates.

Prize Selection: The prize selection committee will consist of all C6 commission members.

IUPAP C6 Website: http://iupap.org/commissions/c6-biological-physics/

Prize Presentation: The IUPAP C6 Young Scientist Prize will be awarded at the 9th IUPAP International Conference of Biological Physics ICBP2017, June 5–9, 2017 in Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil. The winners will have the opportunity to give an invited oral presentation at the conference sponsored by the commission.

Conference Website: http://www.if.ufrgs.br/icbp2017/index.html

 Nomination Documents:
A brief statement on the achievement for which the nominee is to be recognized,
Curriculum vitae including all publications. Self-nominations are not permitted, but a candidate could ask a mentor or colleague to provide a nomination.

The entire package should be bundled into a single pdf file called Surname_ysm.pdf, where Surname is the candidate’s name. The file must not exceed 2MB in size. Nominations should be send to the chair of the award committee, Helmut Grubmüller, Vice-Chair of C6, by e-mail together with cc’s to Aihua Xie, Chair of C6, and Rita Maria Cunha de Almeida, Secretary of C6.

Deadline for nomination submission: March 15, 2017.

IUPAP welcomes applications from outstanding women and other underrepresented groups. IUPAP Website: http://iupap.org/young-scientist-prize/