C8: News

C8: News

Commission on Semiconductors (C8) Young Scientist Prize 2019 nominations due 31 December 2019

Nominations are sought for the Young Scientist Prizes in Semiconductor Physics awarded by the IUPAP C8 Commission on Semiconductors. Two prizes are awarded biennially for outstanding contributions to semiconductor physics and its applications, made by early career scientists with, at the application deadline of Dec. 31, 2019, a maximum of 8 years of research experience (excluding career interruption) following the award of the PhD.

The prizes will be awarded during the 35th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors to be held in Sydney, Australia from August 9 to August 14, 2020. The Prizes include commemorative IUPAP medals and 1000 Euros each, and invited oral presentations at ICPS 2020.

Nomination procedure (as at: https://www.iupap.org)

Nominees for the Young Scientist Prizes must be nominated by a senior member of the research community. Self-nominations are not accepted. A nomination for the prizes must contain:

  • A cover letter of not more than 1000 words by the nominator evaluating the nominee’s contributions to semiconductor physics and identifying the specific work to be recognized (up to 4 publications).;
  • A citation for the prize (not more than 25 words);
  • A short CV of the nominee (not more than 3 pages);
  • A list of publications;
  • Two further letters of endorsement of the nomination, at least one of which is not from a former supervisor of the nominee.

The nomination must be prepared in English and combined into a single consolidated PDF file, which is to be sent as an email attachment to the IUPAP-C8 Commission secretary (Prof Young Dong Kim) at: ydkim@khu.ac.kr, with a copy to the Commission Chair (Prof Rolf Haug) at: haug@nano.uni-hannover.de .
The deadline for submissions of nominations is December 31, 2019.

Selection procedure

The winners of the competition will be selected by the members of the IUPAP C8 Commission.

Previous Winners


Commission on Semiconductors (C8) Young Scientist Prize 2018 Winners

Heejun Yang

“For his outstanding contribution to novel interface devices based on structural, electronic, and quantum-state control with van der Waals layered materials.”

Heejun Yang received his PhD in physics with a subject on graphene by scanning tunneling microscopy and spectroscopy (STM/STS) from Seoul National University (Korea) and University Paris-Sud XI (France, a joint degree) in 2010, and experienced industrial device studies in Samsung Electronics from 2010 to 2012. Then, he conducted his research on graphene spintronics in CNRS/Thales as a postdoc from 2012 to 2014. With his research background on molecular and nanometer-scale studies (in Seoul and Paris) and electric and spintronic device physics (in Samsung and CNRS/Thales), he moved to Sungkyunkwan University as an assistant professor on March 2014 and started original device studies with phase engineering of low-dimensional materials. He has proposed novel and conceptual interface devices such as ‘Graphene Barristor’ and ‘Ohmic homojunction contact between semiconductor channel and metal electrodes’.

Jean Christophe Blancon

“For his outstanding contributions to elucidating mechanisms of formation and dissociation of exciton states in solution processed perovskite quantum well semiconductors for efficient optoelectronics.”

Jean Christophe Blancon is a senior research Scientist in the George R. Brown School of Engineering at Rice University (Houston, TX, USA). He graduated from the University of Lyon (France), and completed in 2010 his M.Sc. in physics from the Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon, and his M.Sc. in optics and photonics from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany). He was a postdoctoral fellow who joined Los Alamos National Laboratory (USA) in 2014 after obtaining his Ph.D. in physics from the University of Lyon in 2013, where he worked on measuring the absolute absorption cross-section of individual single- and double-wall carbon nanotubes. During his four-year postdoctoral appointment at Los Alamos, Jean-Christophe’s main contribution was to elucidate mechanisms of formation and dissociation of exciton states in solution-processed, organic-inorganic, perovskite quantum well semiconductors, which has led to the core design of perovskite-based optoelectronic devices. His work has opened a new direction for tuning the materials chemistry of hybrid perovskite based low dimensional materials and for achieving desired and new emergent functionalities. This work has led to more than 20 publications among which in Nature, Science, Nature communications, and Advanced materials, cited more than 2000 times.

Jean-Christophe’s work focused on understanding multi-scale phenomena in low dimensional hybrid materials and directly correlate nanoscale physical mechanisms, including charge-energy conversion and transfer, to understand macroscopic figures-of-merit and performances of optoelectronics devices such as solar cells, light emitters, detectors, and transistors. His recent focus has been on investigating the interplay between the mechanical, optical, and electronic properties of hybrid perovskites.


Commission on Semiconductors (C8) Young Scientist Prize 2016 Winners

Kimberly Dick Thelander, Department of Materials Science, Lund University

“For hKimberly Dick Thelanderer work to control and understand growth of nanowires, including three-dimensional structures, superlattices, crystal phase engineering and bandgap design”.

Kimberly Thelander is a Professor of Materials Science at Lund University, Lund, Sweden, appointed jointly at the division of Solid State Physics and the Center for Analysis and Synthesis. She completed undergraduate studies in Chemical Physics at the University of Waterloo, Canada, followed by a PhD in Physics from Lund University. Her research is focused on the development of novel materials in nanostructures, specifically focused on unusual polytypes and alloy semiconductors in III-V nanowires. Most recently she is involved in the development of in-situ TEM for real-time investigations of nanowire growth.

Samuel (Sam) Stranks, MIT/University of Cambridge

Sam Stranks. TED2016 Fellows. Photo: Bret Hartman / TED

“For pioneering discoveries in the field of perovskite solar cells and optoelectronics through spectroscopy”.

Sam Stranks is a TED Fellow and a Marie Curie Fellow currently based jointly at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Cambridge University. He graduated from Adelaide University in 2007 with a BA and BSc (First Class Honours in Physics) and a University Medal. He completed his PhD as a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford University with Robin Nicholas, receiving the 2012 Institute of Physics Roy Thesis Prize for his work on carbon nantoube/polymer blends for organic solar cell applications. From 2012-2014, he worked as a post-doctoral researcher in Henry Snaith’s group at Oxford University where he was also a Junior Research Fellow at Worcester College and Lecturer in Physics at Corpus Christi College. He will establish his research group at Cambridge University as a Royal Society University Research Fellow in October 2016.

Sam’s work focuses on understanding and manipulating the optoelectronic properties of metal halide perovskites, which are generating a great deal of attention for their use in high performance solar cells and light-emission applications. He was involved in many of the early breakthroughs in this burgeoning field, including the first reports of long carrier diffusion lengths, visualization of ion migration in these materials, and description of charge carrier recombination kinetics.