WG9: International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics (ICNP)

WG9: International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics (ICNP)

Working Group 9(WG9) on International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics (ICNP) was established by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) on the recommendation of the IUPAP Commission on Nuclear Physics, C12, in 2003 with a mandate to look at the key issues in Nuclear Physics.”

Members of IUPAP WG.9

Members of IUPAP WG.9 and IUPAP C12 and invitees to the ICNP AGM – September 2016

Charge to Working Group

  • to provide a description of the landscape of key issues in Nuclear Physics research for the next 10 to 20 years;
  • to produce (maintain) a compendium of facilities existing or under development worldwide;
  • to establish a mapping of these facilities onto the scientific questions identified above;
  • to identify missing components that would have to be developed to provide an optimized, comprehensive network of international facilities;
  • to explore mechanisms and opportunities for enhancing international collaboration in nuclear science;
  • to identify R/D projects that could benefit from international joint effort;
  • to serve as a source of expert advice for governmental or inter- governmental organisations in connection with efforts to coordinate and promote nuclear science at the international level;
  • to serve as a forum for the discussion of future directions of nuclear science in the broadest sense;
  • to document the cross-disciplinary impact of Nuclear Physics and of nuclear facilities and to identify mechanisms for expanding (fostering) cross-disciplinary research.


The Executive of the IUPAP Working Group 9 consists of a Chairperson, a Past-Chairperson, and an Executive-Secretary. Among its members will be the Chairs and the Past-Chairs of the long range planning committees, the US Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (NSAC) and the Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee (NuPECC), the Chairs and Past-Chairs of the nuclear physics associations, the Association of Latin American Nuclear Physics and Applications (ALAFNA) and the Asian Nuclear Physics Association (ANPhA), and representatives of the large nuclear physics research establishments worldwide (four from North America, four from Europe, four from Asia, and one or two more from outside the three mentioned global regions. The Chair of the IUPAP Commission on Nuclear Physics, C12, will be ex-officio members of the Working Group 9.


Chair: Robert E. Tribble, Texas A&M, USA
Past-Chair: Anthony W. Thomas, University of Adelaide, Australia
Secretary: Willem T.H. van Oers, TRIUMF/University of Manitoba, Canada


Alinka Lepine-Szily (U. de Sao Paulo, Brazil) Co-Chair of ALAFNA/Chair of IUPAP C12

Angela Bracco (INFN-Milano, Italy) Chair of NuPECC

Berndt Mueller (Associate Director BNL, USA)

David W. Hertzog (University of Washington) Chair of NSAC

Dinesh Srivastava (Director VECC, India)

Donald F. Geesaman (ANL, USA) Past-Chair of NSAC

Dong-Pil Min (Seoul National University, RoK) Past-Chair of ANPhA

Faical Azaiez (Director i’Themba Laboratories, Zuid-Afrika)

Guenther Rosner (University of Glasgow, UK) Past-Chair of NuPECC

Hideto En’yo (Director RIKEN Nishina Center for Accelerator-Based Science, Japan)

Jonathan Bagger (Director TRIUMF, Canada)

Kazuhiro Tanaka (KEK, Japan) Chair of ANPhA

Naohito Saito (Director J-PARC, Japan)

Navin Alahari (Director GANIL, France)

Paolo Giubellino (Director GSI, Germany)

Pierluigi Campana (Director Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati, Italy)

Stuart Henderson (Director Jefferson Laboratory, USA)

Sun-Chan Jeong (Director RSIP, Korea)

Thomas Glasmacher (Director FRIB, USA)

Victor A. Matveev (Director JINR-Dubna, Russia)

Wenlong Zhan (Vice-President Chinese Academy of Sciences, IMP-Lanzhou, China)



Report to General Assembly: 2011, 2014
Report to the IUPAP Council and Commission Chairs: 2010, 2012, 2015 (Oct)
Additional reports
IUPAP Report 41: 2014

IUPAP Report 41

One of the mandates of the Working Group, as confirmed by the OECD Global Science Forum, is to update IUPAP Report 41 within a regular scheduled time frame. IUPAP Report 41 “Research Facilities in Nuclear Physics” was first published as a hard copy and then as an electronic version in 2007. Since then additional individual nuclear physics laboratory descriptions have been added. Following the second Nuclear Science Symposium, which was held at INFN
Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati, 31 May–1 June 2013, also the preamble to IUPAP Report 41 has been revised with succinct synopses of the seven subfields of nuclear physics discussed at the symposium. These synopses give the more important nuclear science questions to be addressed in the coming five to ten years and are to be seen as a roadmap for nuclear science worldwide. It is the intention to update the roadmap following each of the Nuclear Science Symposia which now may take place every other year.





Website for The International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics.